We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ”

The Stinking Rose - San Francisco
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stinking Rose - San Francisco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #321 of 6,032 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Muni Lines: 8BX, 45 and 41
Description: Garlic rules at this world famous North Beach restaurant where dining is an experience for all the senses. Charming private dining areas with unique decor: hanging Chianti bottles, glowing candles, cozy booths and chandeliers. Tureens and sizzling skillets of seafood tantalize and thrill...follow your nose to The Stinking Rose!
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Delicious (obviously if you like Garlic!)
Yummy garlic meatloaf and garlic shrimp pasta! Cocktails were delicious too! Not for a first date as you will stink of garlic for the rest of the night but it is absolutely delicious

Thank Tommitchmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the stellar review, Tom!

We're delighted you had such a wonderful experience with us! We strive to ensure our dishes are perfect before serving them. It's outstanding you enjoyed our fresh and delicious food so much. That's what we like to see! We can't wait to host you again soon so we can share another fantastic meal with you!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018

Read about The Stinking Rose in a local SF tourist publication in Parc 55 Hotel where i was staying and decided to seek out The Stinking Rose as it sounded a very good place to eat. I asked the waiter which dish he would recommend and he said Spaghetti with Meatballs, which were delicious. Its a family run restaurant and is in a typical Italian style,very clean and tidy with locals and tourists equally welcome, a definite must if you are a lover of garlic.

Thank brianlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thanks for the stellar review, Brian!

It's fantastic you had such a wonderful experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much. The Spaghetti with Meatballs was a great choice, a real fan favorite. We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience and your praise lets us know we're doing our job!

We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing meal! Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Based upon reading a few "Must Do" lists, we chose The Stinking Rose as a restaurant that we'd like to try during our recent beginning of July stay in San Francisco.

While the food was good, it was not an experience that we would recommend to others for a couple reasons.

1- The price was high. The best deal that we got was a pitcher of the local favorite beer "Anchor Steam" for $24 I think. Entrees seemed to be at least $5-10 more than I would expect to pay elsewhere (even in the city). As well, there was a 4.9% surcharge on all items of our bill, preadvertised on the menu, to allow for the restaurant to cover expenses. This charge was in addition to any tax and was not something that I saw at any other restaurant while in San Francisco.

2- The point of the restaurant is novelty. While the menu offers to allow for any of its selections to be prepared without garlic, the whole point of eating here is to experience the garlic. There is even garlic wine and garlic ice cream, neither of which we tried. We ate beef short rib (very good), prime rib (good), and spaghetti and meatballs (good). The ribs were served with generous sides of roasted garlic cloves. The meatballs were prepared with a clove of garlic inside each one. All tasted fine, but as stated, the point is the novelty, as evidenced by the t-shirts, etc. for sale on your way in and out.

The staff overall were upbeat, friendly, and accommodating. And the food tasted fine. (I for one was still tasting the garlic afterward, even the next morning.) Would we dissuade anyone visiting San Francisco from trying The Stinking Rose? No. But we just wouldn't recommend it as a "must do."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abcmanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us at The Stinking Rose. We're so glad that you loved your meals and service. We aim to please our guests with our warm hospitality and delicious food, so this is fantastic to hear.

We'd love to share another positive, fun experience with you in the future. Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

I must admit I did not eat here however I sat with my wife and daughter and drank a very good bourbon, in fact got quite squiffy.

My daughter had mussels and my wife pasta and I can assure you you did not need to eat it to taste the garlic, they both loved there food, however the garlic martini my wife had was a step too far I'm afraid definitely an acquired taste!

They both finished off with garlic ice cream which unbelievably they also enjoyed, I had another bourbon and a hang over the next day.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Thank you for sharing, Davod!

We're delighted to hear you and your family had a fantastic dining experience with us at The Stinking Rose. We're so glad that you enjoyed our bourbons while your wife and daughter loved our mussels, pasta and even the ice cream. We'd love to host you again in the near future, hopefully minus the hangover next time!

Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We bought Caesar's Salad and Ciopino. Both missed the boat compared to previous experiences. Last time we were here the place was smaller and more intimate. Bigger evidently is not better.

Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Eric.

It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret that your dishes weren't prepared properly and to your satisfaction. We care deeply about the happiness of our guests. Your experience is not on par with the high caliber dishes we're accustomed to sharing with our guests so we'll address your feedback moving forward.

We hope for the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stinking Rose - San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to The Stinking Rose - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing