We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stinking Rose" yes it is,...”

The Stinking Rose - San Francisco
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stinking Rose - San Francisco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Muni Lines: 8BX, 45 and 41
Description: Garlic rules at this world famous North Beach restaurant where dining is an experience for all the senses. Charming private dining areas with unique decor: hanging Chianti bottles, glowing candles, cozy booths and chandeliers. Tureens and sizzling skillets of seafood tantalize and thrill...follow your nose to The Stinking Rose!
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Stinking Rose" yes it is,...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Stinking Rose is as special as San Francisco itself. After a morning of walking through Chinatown, we came across the Rose on Columbus, the funky ambiance, the friendly staff, all leads to some wonderful food, with garlic magic. Since it was the middle of a Friday afternoon, we selected the pizzas, she had the Margarita, cheese garlic and tomatoes,, I had the filet mignon chili pizza, chilli, cheeses and oh my gosh goodness. I highly recommend the chilli pizza. Make eure you partake of the garlic Olive oils and parsley spread on the buns. Let's just say the garlic spread is pure heaven and it sure will keep the fellow trolley riders out of your way. I highly recommend Stinking Rose, as a must visit when in San Francisco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    797
    347
    129
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westboro, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hello Garlic !!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our first visit to San Francisco and the first restaurant review was we must go to Stinking Rose. Well they were right? The restaurant was garlic friendly and so was the waiter. The ambience of the restaurant was a cross between cirque de Soleil and beach cabanas. Why I say that is each booth was private with black and white stripe drapes that could be closed for privacy. The lighting in each booth was different. Ours had a crystal fixture and the rest of the booths were decorated with different lights.
The food was excellent cooked with lots of garlic and herbs. Our appetizer was mussels saute with lots of garlic. Yummy!! Our main courses with also fish related and they were just as good. The Creme dela Creme was the finishing off of Garlic Ice Cream to die for... That was unbelievable. nothing I had ever tasted.. Our trip to The stinking Rose was memorable and would recommend visiting when in San Francisco in North Beach..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniA226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best of food in San Francisco”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited this restaurant purely because a tour guide told us the history. As garlic lovers and looking for a good meal we thought we would give it a try. We had a lovely window table. Excellent service with a good menu. My spicy garlic shrimp was the best meal of my holiday. My Husband had the meatloaf. Rather large and a great taste. Such a good atmosphere, sitting among the thousands of garlic's. We did not get to try the "Garlic Ice Cream" for dessert. !! A wonderful night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garlic Heaven”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Saw the reviews on trip advisor and gave it go being lovers of the pungent bulb and without doubt an absolute gem. Passed in in the afternoon and decided to pop in and book and glad we did as it was rammed and only a Tuesday night!!! Amazing decor with hundreds of framed pictures and bottles and the lovely aroma of garlic - we had the roasted garlic and bread starter which although only $6 the waitress kindly advised would do 3 of us and it did, so plenty of room for the enormous and melt in the mouth prime rib and my partner had the Halibut which she enjoyed soooo much. If you like garlic it is food heaven......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmthJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Amazing restaurant!!! I LOVE GARLIC!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Every single time I go to San Francisco I am sure to hit up the Stinking Rose. This place is amazing! EVERYTHING has garlic in it, but it is DELICOUS!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank redplanet06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stinking Rose - San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to The Stinking Rose - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing