We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined our memories of this diner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fog City

Fog City
Reserve with OpenTable
Fog City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #416 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Muni F line located directly across from the restaurant on The Embarcadero. The Muni 10 line stops at Sansome and Greenwich.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ruined our memories of this diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our experience was of confused staff and very odd dishes. They didn't know if they were serving dinner or lunch, and the staff weren't communicating with one another so our order was wrong. None of the ambiance of the former diner is intact. My dish was a mess of soggy bread, deli turkey and sloshy cheese sauce. It was really revolting. Very disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    172
    62
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a disaster!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a disaster! My wife and I have been regulars at former Fog City Diner every single time we have been visiting San Francisco for more than 20 years. Why did they destroy this amazing restaurant by changing everything from the wonderful architecture to its superb food?.
Today's Fog City is a huge disappointment in every aspect and we will never go back. Bring the real Fog City Diner back!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had the pork chop and it was very tasty. The rib-eye steak and clams were good too. The room was a little noisy which made it hard to carry on a conversation. Service was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceCorpsNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent informal dining, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a valentines meal whilst on honeymoon in the city. We hadn't booked do were pleasantly surprised that they managed to squeeze us in. To start with we had a bread, can't remember which one but it was cooked in the wooden stove. Then we had the mushrooms in a paprika stew - yummy. Closely followed by a pork dish and a duck leg dish. Pudding was a frozen custard with a caramel sauce and my husband chose the apple pie with chilli. I supped cocktails throughout the evening whilst husband had wine. The service was very attentive , the food delicious and we loved the open kitchen with the wooden stoves. Also loved the way the food was served, in dribs and drabs and very informal. Fabulous!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“tasty food in a great setting ~ newly renovated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've loved this place for years so when my friend suggested we eat lunch here last week following the renovation recently ~ I was eager to do so. The menu items are filled with variety and uniqueness and the food is exceptionally tasty. I'll definitely go back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fog City also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fog City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing