We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fog City

Fog City
Reserve with OpenTable
Fog City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Muni F line located directly across from the restaurant on The Embarcadero. The Muni 10 line stops at Sansome and Greenwich.
Cassidy, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location, easy to get to, great staff, fantastic food. I enjoyed every mouth full and hated to leave. If you are visiting fisherman's wharf, take the time to find this place, it will be worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    176
    63
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

...is the big deal? It came highly recommended.....the staff was indifferent at best and surly at the worst. The food was fine but certainly not 'CAN"T wait to get back!" quality.....all in all, it seemed to be a place resting on its reputation which is the biggest reason we've not been back although some close friends did go recently and said it was fine....

Helpful?
Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“Fog City Rip Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Over priced. Server that couldn't care less. Empty except for us... I guess we know why now. We were lured in by the history and beauty of the place but it was the low point of my otherwise awesome weekend in San Fran. Fog City Diner is tring to be something it's not... a good restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BC_Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fog City Diner is a landmark in San Francisco. Formally known as Mildred Pierce's, this diner always serves delicious comfort fo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the special Charmelagne. Burger, black angus beef , Swiss cheese, onion strings , dried red tomato jam and truffle fries . Fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We wondered into the Fog City Diner and at first I wasn't very impressed with the menu. Many items were not available that particular day. The menu was not reflecting time serving time we were at. I wouldn't go in expecting a "DINER" it is a nice sit down restaurant. The menu is rather limited. When the food came that is where I must say they saved themselves. I ended up ordering a salad and it was delicious. To others ordered hamburgers and other dishes and all said theirs was delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsinger97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fog City also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fog City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing