We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place in a cool location”
Review of Fog City

Fog City
Reserve with OpenTable
Fog City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #482 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Muni F line located directly across from the restaurant on The Embarcadero. The Muni 10 line stops at Sansome and Greenwich.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
“Decent place in a cool location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went for my friend's engagement party. The parents paid for everything, so I couldn't complain. Food was pretty good. Service was as well. Parking around there can be hit or miss.

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    180
    64
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Au Train, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just the place for sightseeing respite”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Enjoy the happy hour wine and small plate specials after you have walked down from Coit Tower. Sit out on the sidewalk, enjoy the view and bask in the pleaure of simply being in San Francisco

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local Spot”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I live a couple of blocks away and this is a good go-to place. Burgers are good and so is the wedge salad. Sometimes gets a bit touristy, but that's OK. Excellent bartenders.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Creative, well executed cuisine”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Outwardly, this would seem to be a typical throwback American diner, but the menu hints at something more special. The quality keeps up on the menu's promise, too. I sampled all 7 items my family and I ordered, and every one was superb. The clam chowder was the 2nd best I've ever had, only BARELY exceeded by the Yacht Club in Silverdale WA. Wish I had a larger family so that I could've ordered a few more things! Portions were not large for the price, but this place is not about volume, it's about quality. Charming waitress GiGi was the icing on the cake! To be honest, this meal was more creative and far tastier than our dinner at Roy's two days earlier, which was almost twice the cost.

Helpful?
Thank craiginsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swanky”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ate here the other night. We had been here once before, in 1993, and enjoyed it. It was good this time too. The boys had burgers, which were huge and delicious, and I had the shrimp and grits, which were too soupy, but had a nice flavor. Robert C., our server, was great...offering suggestions and checking back. The atmosphere is really classy too, but you can wear jeans and feel at home. The bill was over $90 with tip, so be advised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fog City also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fog City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing