We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastrami sandwich”
Review of Lefty O'Doul's - CLOSED

Lefty O'Doul's
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet
Neighborhood: Union Square
Oegstgeest
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pastrami sandwich”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A baseball fan, I visited Lefty O'Doul's restaurant one afternoon for lunch. I found they serve freshly carved meat and had a really wonderful pastrami sandwich. The taste was out of this world. I returned for breakfast on a Sunday morning and got a really nice breakfast here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilHOegstgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    506
    216
    79
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton,alberta,canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great friendly restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly and efficient..Too bad Dory retired she was outstanding. Food is great and usually never have to wait to be seated

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CINDYR238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great sportsbar for Sunday football game with food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went there with a friend because we want to catch a game, have linch and a couple of beers.

The atmosphere is great and the place is packed with people. Drinks are served at the tables or you can go to the bar if you do not want to wait too long. Their selection of beers on tap is great.

For food you have to line up in front of a long counter "cafeteria style", purchase it and bring it to your table, do not be put of by that! There are nicedaly specials, my friend said the sandwiches were great and there are also nice salads. In the couple of hours we spent there there was a long line for food all the time so everything was fresh all the time as the turn over wad incredible. This is the one thing that usually worries me about buffets and other counters with a lot of prepared food - you never k

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very cool sports bar, excellent service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had breakfast here one day, and although they didn't have a veggie omelet on their menu, they happily made one for me. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. Looks like a super cool place to have a beer and watch the game, too! Oh, and I loved reading about Lefty - very interesting story!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz area CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A+++ UNIQUE ATMOSPHERE - ALWAYS MEMORABLE MEALS!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have been going here for 40 plus years - no exaggeration! STILL makes me hungry to even think about Lefty's! Authentic in every way - this famous baseball player had great expertise when he opened this restaurant - LITTLE HAS CHANGED here over the years. DELICIOUS food of wide variety - traditional Hoff Brau style with excellent meats, side dishes, and desserts. GREAT prices, ambiance to spare - very historic "Museum" of baseball and various celebrities from back in the "Day" - in addition to the best bar and sports screenings in town - piano bar and lively guests make this truly a place everyone will remember they experienced for years to come. Friendly service too - they KNOW what they are doing is the most apt thing I can say for Lefty's. While other places come and go, food trends change and styles alter - this is NOT the case here - it is a staple of the town and, on Union Square, next to upscale department stores and art galleries. The perfect centerpiece of a lovely day in S.F. - and I can hear the Turkey dinner and/or Corned Beef CALLING MY NAME as I speak! A Don't Miss type of place - fun and unique!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty O'Doul's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing