We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for Breakfast - Basic Hotel Restaurant”
Review of Trace

Trace
Reserve with OpenTable
Trace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #468 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Howard Street
Transit: Two blocks from Montgomery Muni and Bart Station.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Went for Breakfast - Basic Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a basic hotel restaurant - nothing special. I had seen the French Toast on the menu before we went. It was described as: "bourbon, roasted banana, toasted pecans caramelized white chocolate," so I was looking forward to it. It turned out to be the only selection we had that actually was not good. It was very dense - more like bread pudding - and rather dry with no banana favor at all. I ate about half. The picture looks pretty good, but don't be fooled. The rest of the selections were basic breakfast fare - good enough for fuel, but not up to par for a nice breakfast out. In short, there are much better places to eat in San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    38
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
532 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Young, Loud, Hip, Crowded, Delicious”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

W’s are known for its youthful vibe and the W in San Francisco doesn’t disappoint. The décor at Trace is edgy, the bar is packed with 20-30 something’s strutting their stuff, and restaurant is noisy. It’s not a place for conversation or a romantic interlude, but it’s definitely fun. The food is fantastic. Everything is very fresh, locally sourced, and they even keep bees on the 4th floor to serve their own honey.
Four of us enjoyed Gem salads (large portions, crisp, yummy cheddar dressing), creamy sweet corn soup, Liberty Farms duck breast, pan roasted rock cod, and Brant Beef bistro filet as entrees. Every bite was original, scrumptious, and beautifully presented. For dessert we had peaches and cream and a chocolate bar, both decadent, different, delicious! Service was prompt and pleasant. We had a Travelzoo voucher that included beverage pairings, giving us 3 drinks each: Proseco or lemon grass drop with soup/salad, Pinot Noir or Mr. Robinson with entrée, and Sherry for dessert. The sherry was good, but the other drinks were just okay. Four great breads are served with butter. What we didn’t like with this Travelzoo voucher was that the restaurant considered the beverages to be worth $175 (not worth that), thus the bill included tax and automatic 18% tip on the entire amount. We wouldn’t do a beverage pairing again, and dislike the policy of automatic tips for parties of less than six (tips are for service). Our server was terrific and we would have taken care of him well anyway. Corkage is $20. Valet parking is $15.00 with validation. Great location near Moscone Center, south of Market street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Needs Refreshing”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This could be a cool spot, but needs a facelift. Plus, service was slow. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged, 5 minutes for a menu, and more time for her to return. Ultimately, we decided to head to the St Regis instead where the space was clean and service quick.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Advourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules,CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Upscale”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Made a reservation for 2 and use a coupon from Groupon, the menu were pix but the food was tasty , our server Richard made the experience incredible he makes us very comfy and much welcome and very attentive to our needs. pretty good as the price is just right pairing drinks for all the courses i am impressed, would recommend the place and definitely will dine again.
Thanks, Richard for the good service.. keep up the good work

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great choice for weary hotel guests and their local friends”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had quite a few great meals here including locally caught fish and amazing fresh made breads! Friends from the area who met me for a meal were also impressed. Would dine again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trace also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Trace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing