We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mussels”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Claude

Cafe Claude
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Claude is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Bush & Kearny
Description: Affectionately known as the "Paris of the West," Cafe Claude is a San Francisco institution. Situated on one of the city's hidden alleys, Claude Lane, Cafe Claude offers a taste of France, with classic bistro dishes at lunch and dinner, a full bar, and an affordable wine list. On warm days, linger on the patio and enjoy a rare dose of sunshine, or a warming bowl of onion soup or coq au vin inside. On weekends, the restaurant comes alive with live jazz from 7 to 10pm, Thursday through Saturdays.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mussels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes, everything else, no. Even the famous fries were soggy with grease on my last visit and the desserts impressed with their size, but not with flavor or finesse. Go. Have mussels and a beer, and be on your way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    214
    67
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“To Die for !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went on a Friday night to have dinner and listen to the french jazz. At first I was concerned as they cram you into a small space, However, we had the best time with our neighboring tables. You can if you choose, keep to yourselves, however the tables next us were visiting from France, and filled us in on the best dishes.
We had the trout, and fillet with frittes. The food was absolutely amazing, full of flavor and melted in your mouth. The wine's are superb, and our excellant french waiter assisted with impeccably proper pairings.
The music was fantastic, only I wish it was louder. Hard to hear because of the noise. Be sure to make a reservation ! The place was packed.
I will definately go again when given the opportunity,
Bon Appetite !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French, and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere that serves good French food at a reasonable price, with some live jazz on the side, Cafe Claude would be a great choice. Although tucked down a rather unppossessing lane way, it has a delightfully French ambiance and we really enjoyed the meal. The asparagus soup was fantastic, everything else we tasted was good and the reasonably priced wine list was interesting. The service was great once we had a table. We booked on line, arrived on time, but then had quite a wait for the table, so be prepared! And live music is not on every night, so check to make sure you don't miss out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top-notch French brasserie downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

While making the rounds on the downtown SF museum circuit, we took a friend's recommendation of a favorite. Cafe Claude, on a narrow alley in the Financial District, is classic France all the way. From the setting, steeped in color and dark wood paneling, to the long zinc bar, you know what you're getting. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable, and the menu has terrific items for any palate hungering for classic bistro. We lunched on beautiful mussels, a true Salade Nicoise- egg and anchovies!- and a terrific homemade pasta. Prices are average for the city, but the experience is well beyond.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brasserie - always enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Cafe Claude, a short walk from Union Square, Chinatown or the Financial District should be on your list of places to eat in SF. It's not gourmand, just well-prepared Brasserie-style French faire served by knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. One can sit outside under the canopy (heated, thankfully) or inside the warm and cozy main rooms. The seafood dishes we had were all off the menu and just wonderful. I've yet to have anything be other than deliscious!

One can linger through appetizers, mains and deserts or have a quick meal between seeing the sites. Definitely a restaurant worth making a reservation to enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Claude also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing