We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food and Service”
Review of Bocce Cafe - CLOSED

Bocce Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Grant Ave.
Transit: We are minutes away from the cable cars and MUNI lines, 15, 30, and 45.
Gurgaon, India
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Awful Food and Service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having read about the Bocce Cafe online , we specially decided to have dinner here one evening . The place was a major disappointment. Though it didn't take time for us to be seated, the service otherwise was pathetic. We ordered a Ribeye steak which was the worst I have ever had . My wife was not very hungry and so we ordered one dish into two. The waiter informed us that was not possible and just gave us another plate. When we ordered another round of drinks, the waiter just simply forgot to bring the drinks, and not even an apology for this lapse.
We really regretted having come all the way from Fisherman's wharf to this place. There are many other very good Italian places to eat in San Francisco.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pravine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anthony, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good italian”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went based on a recommendation from a local. Went for dinner. Large portions and great food. Service was attentive. Would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMPFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Pretty bad service. Almost non-exsistent on the part of the waitress. The worst part of the meal was the fact that our dinners came out 2 minutes after the appetizers.

Cioppino had two mussels in it that were not open, should have been discarded.



  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place ever”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went for my husband's birthday with some friends from out of town. It was awful food, terrible service, loud music and a roach crawled across the table. Don't do it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dani730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Apparently something has changed here!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had reservations for 10 of us on Saturday night. They sat us promptly, but that was the last of the good service. Our waitress took 20 minutes to take our food order, never returned to top off our water glasses, and the food was terrible. I had the Calzone, and it appeared that the salami had gone bad, and our salads had old soft tomatoes that should have been discarded instead of being used. We will not be returning to this restaurant again, as there are too many good places to eat in the city!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimJ3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocce Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing