We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school favorite”
Review of John's Grill

John's Grill
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 9/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #279 of 6,501 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell Street
Description: John's Grill has been a San Francisco tradition since 1908. This historic restaurant is one of the city's oldest and most famous and is a favorite of celebrities who enjoy great steaks, expertly prepared fresh seafood with excellent service and a one of a kind atmosphere. John's Grill was a setting in author Dashiell Hammetts, The Maltese Falcon. The restaurant has earned many tributes: it has been chosen as one of the 10 best by Esquire and featured in Gourmet Magazine. Live jazz nightly in the upper level dining room. ZAGAT RATED: Food 26 / Decor 24 / Service 25 / Cost $44 "Step back in time" at this circa-1908 Downtown "landmark", where "solid steakhouse fare" and "strong drinks" draw "tourists and locals alike"; "one of the last old-style SF eateries", it's also renowned as a "Dashiell Hammett hangout" (and a setting in The Maltese Falcon.)"
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

We loved our dinner at Joh’s Grill! The pasta dish my wife had and the seafood dish I had were expertly made and delicious. The server was professional and helpful. A must-visit place when visiting SF.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Dinner was everything I hoped it would be based on reading reviews. It’s a small, close quarters type of place but real friendly and the food is worth the smaller space. Servers were great, food was awesome!!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Thebodyshopboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

This was like stepping into a time machine where you can watch the history of San Francisco develop by seeing the pictures of everyone that has enjoyed this establishment throughout the last 100 years. The wait staff was terrific and we enjoyed some amazing seafood themed dishes. I would highly recommend and make sure you take a few minutes to check out the Maltese Falcon memorabilia/history.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JoeyRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We went here for a steak meal as it was recommended by our hotel . We got a table immediately for 5 people with no reservation . The waiter was polite all evening and our steaks were good but when the bill came we had been double charged the automatic 19% service charge which is added to bills for parties of 5 or more . It was really obvious that the waiter thought we wouldn’t check the bill properly and was trying to make money out of us . When we queried the charge he was very embarrassed and came up with a non sensical excuse , but he disappeared after changing it and we left with a very bad taste in our mouths . It totally ruined what had a been a pleasant evening . Warning to others - check your bill !

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Yard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

Wanted steak, so thought we would try long standing steak house. Shrimp cocktail was very good. I chose the ribeye. Tasty but lots of gristle. $35 price tag was a bit much for the steak quality. New York strip was a little better cut but not average taste.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing