We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hog Heaven!”

Hog Island Oyster Company
Ranked #17 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Vernon Hills, IL
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hog Heaven!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Located in the SF Ferry Building, this small spot is the place to go if you love oysters! The selection of what's available apparently changes depending upon what is available. I had a dozen mixed oysters (2 of each for $36) and the clam chowder (loaded with clams still in the shell for $14) and a couple glasses of white wine. There are two guys behind the counter busy shucking almost none-stop, so the oysters can't get any fresher. Delicious. And the chowder was outstanding as well. In fact, I came back a few nights later and had exactly the same thing (except some of the oyster selections had changed). Very easy to recommend, but nice to be on an expense account!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sept16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    507
    88
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

You want oysters, you want good service, then roll up for Hog Island. Really good oysters. Efficient service and a view across the bay. Perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding place”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my first visit to this restaurant, but will not be my last. Everything about it was perfect. Had to wait in line but worth the wait. Great oysters! Great clam chowder ( ok, not a typical chowder, but fantastic) service was outstanding. Cold draft beer and good selection of wines. Terrific fresh bread. This is now my favorite place in SF

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty Oysters and Chowder”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We ate lunch here arriving to the restaurant at 11:45 am on a weekday. This is a small restaurant so be prepared to wait but It's well worth it. My guess is you should arrive 11 to 11:15 to get seated quickly. Beer and wine only. Oysters we tremendous. Great selection, knowledgable staff to tell you about each one. We shared a grilled cheese, each ordered Clam Chowder and a couple dozen oysters. Chowder is very unique, lots of fresh clams on top of yummy broth. Menu is small but what they to, they do very well. I don't recommend this place for parties over 4 if you arrive at peak times. We wanted to sit outside so we waited a little longer and its worth it.

Walk through the Ferry Building and enter from the water side.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBONEWILLY999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schulenburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Francisco-2013”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the restaurant about 2pm, and still had about a thirty minute wait, but I want you to know it was well worth IT:)....best clam chowder(East coast has nothing on San Francisco)hehe, grilled cheese was even better than I was expecting, and the oysters were so fresh tasting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Island Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Hog Island Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing