We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dim Sum Extravaganza”

Yank Sing - Rincon Center
Ranked #52 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoMa
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Extravaganza”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Beautifully prepared dishes from dumplings and vegetables to peking duck delivered straight to your table for the tasting. We truly enjoyed this delicious experience as we dined before getting on our plane ride home. Don't miss a visit to Yank Sing while in San Franciso.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familytravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    212
    67
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious dim sum!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our second visit to Yank Sing, and it was a dim sum delight! The endless offerings that are paraded past your table are tempting and delicious. Their "soup dumplings" (as some people call them) are so delicious and reminiscent of the ones I enjoyed in Hong Kong. To die for! If dim sum is what you seek, this is the place to find it. I will come back to Yank Sing time and time again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank journeysabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
705 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Fun”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My daughter and I ate here whilst doing tourist stuff on her first trip to SF. I had been previously with work colleagues. The dim sum process is demystified, as someone comes by with a trolley of tasty treats every few minutes. Crowded on a Saturday but no problem squeezing two people in. Everything we tried (all veg options) was tasty, tho' excessively salty. A but pricy, but who cares? A great choice if you are downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
310 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great snack place”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have come to peace with the prices at Yank Sing, which seem to be about double any other dim sum place. What has given me peace is the realization that dim sum is a great snack option and to avoid it for full meals. On our last trip to SF, we needed an afternoon pick me up after a late breakfast and anticipating an early dinner. Yank Sing really hit the stop. We had some tea and our 4 favorite dim sum items, placing a couple of orders for one particular favorite. We were probably dinged around $40, but the food was great, the service efficient, and it was not crowded in the early afternoon. I have seen all the reviews and know there are better places in SF, but none with better locations, more convenience, and reliable excellence, albeit at a cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
189 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Relatively expensive, but still worth the experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It has been about five years since I last had dim sum at Yank Sing-Rincon Center and I am happy to report that the dim sum is still very good (and comparatively more expensive). They honored my reservation, which allow me to skip ahead of a few waiting people, so one star for that! They quickly came to get our choice of tea and brought it promptly - another star. Their XLB was tasty and juicy, but not very big. There are frankly better xlb's in SF. That taro cake was excellent but their fried taro dumpling was a little burnt. The Shrimp Dumplings had huge shrimps, not the chopped-up smaller shrimp usually found in cheaper establishments. Others tried, like Baked pork buns, pork dumplings, crab and shrimp dumplings, pea spout dumplings, and others were all very good. Not as good as Fisherman's Terrace in Richmond B.C., or the top places in HK, but still very good. Parking is never easy, but they offer discounted parking ($4 for 2 hours on weekdays, free validated parking on weekends). Prices at $6 to $8 per plate average were about 50% to 60% higher than places in Chinatown, but the very good quality, convenient parking, upscale setting (and clean bathrooms) made it a worthwhile dining experience. If you just want to chow down, go to chinatown and enjoy yourself and save a few dollars (or more), but for a nicer dining experience, try yank sing. Depending on how much you order, $30 to $40 pp is about usual when you include the tea charge,3% surcharge, tips and taxes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yank Sing - Rincon Center also viewed

 

Been to Yank Sing - Rincon Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing