We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wild name for a Great Chinese Restaurant”
Review of R & G Lounge

R & G Lounge
Order Online
Ranked #395 of 6,446 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yup, read the reviews, made a reservation and that was a good thing! It gets packed.
It is great food, everyone who knows about good Chinese food has been there.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Umbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We asked a colleague in San Fran to recommend authentic Asian food, and this restaurant was terrific. He ordered us to ask to sit downstairs, and thats definitely where the action is. The place is small but was packed and bustling. I had a great ginger cocktail and the food was delish!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank cortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

In the Chinatown district of San Fransisco we where recommend to this restaurant. It is at the bottom of Chinatown where it looks a bit desolated.
Once we where inside it was fantastic. My husband ordered the crab and I ordered the Peking duck pancakes. These are very generous servings so there is no need to order entree. Our waiter was fantastic and we walked away very happy and content with our choice. Highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ShazChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

typical Cantonese established restaurant that is an excellent option for Chinese food in Chinatown. Service bordered on being obnoxious but the quality of food made up for the lack of service. Must try: stir fry beef with veggies & mushroom, as well as the fried rice with a lovely wok fried scent.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Cpwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Very disappointed with the quality of the food we ate here. We had been recommended to go to this restaurant by our Chinese Uber driver so we had high hopes. However the food was mediocre at best. We ordered the salt and pepper ribs and they were mainly batter and gristle with very little meat. The meat that was there was pink and undercooked. We ended up sending them back as they were inedible. The chicken chow mein had no beansprouts, just noodles, spring onions and chicken but it was bland and tasteless. The chicken and cashew nuts was again bland and hardly had any sauce at all. The satay sticks were undercooked and therefore we felt nervous about eating them. We saw that there were many Chinese people eating in there and so were surprised by the low quality of the food. Will not be recommending it to anyone visiting San Francisco and am disappointed we wasted our precious time going there.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank MissBriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & G Lounge also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to R & G Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing