We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Besides crabs there are other dishes you need to try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of R & G Lounge

R & G Lounge
Ranked #147 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Besides crabs there are other dishes you need to try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This restaurant has been heavily reviewed by a lot of people. The no. 1 most popular dish is undoubtedly the salt and pepper crab. Instead, we ordered squab. Honestly, we did not put a lot of expectation. Surprisingly, it was exceptional good. The meat was tasty and remained juicy. The best of it was the bones which always distinguish good and great. You can chewed on the bones! If you haven't tried squab before. I highly recommend this dish from this restaurant. There are not that many restaurants serve this authentic Cantonese dish and make this good.

The restaurant validates nearby parking garage for 2 hours parking if the total purchase is over $50. Keep in mind, the restaurant waiting line is usually at least 30 mins and sometimes more than an hour on weekend nights.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTL802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    460
    184
    91
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True local experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Tell any local that you have plans to go eat at R & G Lounge or that you did eat there and they just light up and excitedly share what their favourite dishes are!

Having read the reviews both on Tripadvisor and Yelp, our expectations were reasonable when it came to the food, service and the waiting period for a table. We were open to sharing a table which decreased our wait time to about 20 minutes (Thursday around 8pm) and lucked out with being seated downstairs with some friendly foodies from New York (Brooklyn), Italy and France.

The woman at the host stand was welcoming and friendly. The atmosphere is definitely a bit chaotic at the door/waiting area but we didn't mind. It was a good sign that there were many Chinese families eating here along with a diverse group of patrons.

We had the signature dishes of the Salt and Pepper Dungeness Crab and the Peking Duck. Both were tasty, but definitely greasier than other versions we've enjoyed elsewhere. Our table mates enjoyed their sautéed scallops (can't remember the sauce), Salt and Pepper Prawns and also the Dungeness Crab. We also had a simple sautéed vegetable dish which was tasty.

Service was efficient as typical of any busy Chinese Restaurant. Our server was an older gentleman who seemed pleased that we made our choices so quickly. He was professional and on the ball with bringing us tea, replenishing our water, changing our side plates, etc.

Tips - Be prepared to wait so don't go if you're already hungry. If you're a group of 5 or more, you should definitely attempt to make a reservation. Our table mates really made our experience so positive as they were engaging and funny as well as open to embracing an authentic local dining experience like we were. Don't go with expectations of a mind-blowing gastronomical experience. This is a genuine, Chinese restaurant experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OkanaganFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good but NO ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you like authentic Chinese food this is a good place. It has NO ambiance though and NOT good for a business meeting especially where we sat. It was very loud and the tables were on top of each other.

Even though my husband got ill in the night from eating the rich greasy food I had no problems with it and did enjoy it. We shared several dishes a signature dish called "Live Crab with Salt and Pepper". This whole crab is deep fried with a very light batter and is pretty messy to eat because it comes out with shells and all so you have to dig out the meat yourself. So if you don't care about being messy in front of your friends go for it. The other dishes we shared was the whole duck, an eggplant dish and baby bokchoy.

I know this has been recommend by Zagats and Michelin Guide but it can't be for the ambiance but only for the food. I haven't read their reviews but should.

If you plan to go make a reservation as when we got there, there were many people waiting without reservations.

You go and experience it for yourself. That's all I can say.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fast and furious Chinese !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Ate here on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel and were not disappointed. Very busy but waited about 20 minutes for a table at about 7.00pm - thankfully an efficient queuing system.
Head waiter was very helpful in recommending dishes resulting in one of the best Chinese meals we have eaten. A lot of locals eating there as well as visitors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
1 review
“Poor food quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The services was good. The food, not really. I ordered rthe fried crab and honet baby ribs. The crab was oily and not tasty. The ribs were OK. I had crab before in Chinese restaurant, and it was amazing, not this one. I had one piece of the crab, but no one asked me why I didn't eat my food and charged me $65.00. I wouldn't go back, food not good and way to expensive

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lili E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & G Lounge also viewed

 

Been to R & G Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing