We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Crab”
Review of R & G Lounge

R & G Lounge
Ranked #141 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Crab”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our last meal in SF and possibly the best. We knew we wanted the crab, and we went early to get it. But when we saw all the different ways to get it - from black bean sauce to garlic to ginger & scallion - we got a little confused. Finally ended up going with the house signature preparation: breaded with salt and pepper. This doesn't sound that great, but it turns out to be extraordinary, probably the best we've ever had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJChisoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    464
    184
    92
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Yes, this place is popular. But if I'd had these dishes as take-out and rated them not knowing where they were from, I'd have given the mushroom chow mein a C- (few mushrooms, not much flavor), the chicken and eggplant a B- for being far too oily, and only the chicken with black bean would get a B+. Service make you feel very rushed, even at an off hour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roseleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Too saucy and overrated”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

So many people say this is the best Chinese food in the city, but I can't agree. Dishes have too much sauce, and it seems like the sauce is covering up some other transgression. The dishes don't seem fresh at all. Overcrowded and overrated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lousy, lousy, lousy.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

In a city that should offer great Chinese food this is truly the worst I have ever had.
Except for the edible shrimp fried rice, nothing is worth mentioning, let alone eating it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NM
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everybody knows about the crab; it's their specialty item. $38 for a whole Dungeness crab that's been fried with a "salt & pepper" batter. Way over-rated in my opinion. Veggie mu shu and hot & sour soup pretty good. Total for 5 was $138 w/tax, tip, etc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & G Lounge also viewed

 

Been to R & G Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing