We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidents and Emperors eat here!”

Great Eastern Restaurant
Ranked #495 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Presidents and Emperors eat here!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were walking Chinatown in San Francisco looking for another restaurant and saw President Obama's picture in the widow of this restaurant. He was with the entire staff and it was taken about a year ago. So we went in an had an excellent dinner of Peking Duck plus an order of shrimp and scallops with pea pods. The place is very clean, the staff very professional. There was a line waiting for a table as we left. Prices are very reasonable!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    229
    123
    43
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“do try the crispy duck”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this was a recommendation from someone we met, and we were not disappointed. so much to choose from in Chinatown. anyway we were there last Wednesday, about 7pm - got a table within minutes, waiters were fine, we looked at menu and then explained the kind of food we wanted and within a nice amount of time to wait, the food arrived, and it was delicious. the waiter even thought and queried whether we had ordered a little too much, but we assured him it was fine, these were the dishes we wanted.

my husband hasn't had duck in 25 years but when he saw how appetising it looked with the pancakes he had 2. it was very good I have to say. so we were very pleased with our Chinatown experience in san Francisco, and we say this from having Chinatown experiences in London too.

do try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dreadful waiters!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in USA for 5 weeks and visited a lot of restaurants during our time there. We had heard a lot about this restaurant and the food did not disappoint although the duck was cold. What did disappoint was the service, we felt the waiter was surly, unhelpful, impatient and generally lacked every customer service skill going. Nowhere in San Francisco had we come across service like it. For this reason we wouldnt go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pishy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First experience with dim sum”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had our first dim sum here, and while we weren't crazy about most of it, the restaurant was nice. We had a lot of choices, and we were waited on promptly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traceyyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Dim Sum”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I was born in San Francisco. I am married and live an hour away from San Francisco. Today my family and I went to have dim sum at Great Eastern for the very first time. If tourists want to experience the total Chinatown experience, this is the place to be. The wait people was efficient, yet a bit blunt. The food was totally fresh and authentic. Menu is provided with pictures so customers can see exactly see what they are getting. The customers were mainly immigrant Chinese families. Hey, you're in Chinatown. There were also tourists there. The prices were very reasonable. Love this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dimsumgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Eastern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Great Eastern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing