We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable meal”
Review of Piperade

Piperade
Ranked #431 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: b/w Union and Green
Transit: -Muni/Bart Stop nearby -Streetcars -Busline 10
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Food was very tasty and well prepared, prices were reasonable. One of the better restaurants we ate at during our trip to California.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well satisfied”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a very good meal. We started with calamari "a la Plancha" and the cheese + ham terrine. The terrine was the only low point on the meal - too salty and too greasy (by far). For mains we had the rack of lamb and the seafood stew. Both were superb. Lamb ideally cooked and tender; stew including perfect scallops. The 2 desserts - "Rocher" and gâteau were also superb. Prices were high. Service started a bit off-hand but improved as the meal progressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food has good presentation and sophisticated taste. Parking is easier than expected. The crab salad is good but steak is a bit disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2cme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local's Favorite”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

San Francisco is my home town and travel is my passion. Wherever I travel, my wife and I enjoy dining where the local's dine and ask the residents about their favorite places.

Piperade is on my list to recommend to family and friendd visiting San Francisco.

Highly recommend, dungeness crab appetizer, rack of lamb entree and any Basque classic main course whatever nite your visit.

Cheers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best SF Dining”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This small gem never fails to wow even the most jaded palates. Great service for large and small parties in an upscale setting. An added bonus- easy street parking in the evening makes for a relaxing evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piperade also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Piperade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing