We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Like being in a movie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nob Hill Cafe

Nob Hill Cafe
Ranked #41 of 5,537 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Like being in a movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

By chance, I was in the neighborhood alone as I just came off a flight in search of some food. It was 2pm and I just needed something very light.
I had a vegetable soup which came in a very large bowl, extremely sumptuous, followed by the most tasty bruschetta. Hot earl grey followed. I felt very much satisfied.
The service was courteous, informal and very Italian. The restaurant was cosy and comfortable, reminiscent of what one sees in a movie with people dining casually in a small quaint eatery.
Too bad my stay is short or I will love to be back and sample something else on menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    226
    64
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small Italian Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Exactly like many we have had while visiting Italy in Umbria and Tuscany. Delightful small café away from the business of the town center. Had a nice bottle of Italian wine outside while waiting for our table. My evening special pizza with Gorgonzola and pears was exceptional. My wife and friends all had pasta dishes that were equally exceptional. The staff was gregarious and helpful. We sat next to the kitchen and didn't mind it a bit. Everything upbeat and definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Have the Tortellini!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to the Nob Hill Cafe recently with friends. Had to wait about 45 minutes to get a table, if they take reservations, make one in advance. Had a some wine outside on the patio while we waited which was fine.

Once we were inside, the food was amazing. So so tasty. I had the tortellini with cream sauce which was to die for. Caprese Salad was very well done as well. Wine prices weren't outrageous either. They had a $20 bottle of wine which was not terrible.

Service was fast, our waitress was very very nice.

I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want to get out of the main restaurant, tourist-scene, this is a good option. Since it was near our hotel, and rec'd good TA reviews, we decided to give it a shot. Friday night on SF marathon weekend so we knew it would be a challenge and it was - 45 min wait, outside, since there is no space to wait indoors - but it was worth it. We were lucky enough to get a window table, in the side dining room so our experience was a little different than some of the other reviews (which I agree with - very small, cramped tables, and you wouldn't want to be in the side with the kitchen). The food was very good - but not the best ever - and I especially recommend the carbonara, and the bread! Service was excellent, and prices reasonable...for SF. Nice that this seems to be a locals favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvp724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy neighbourhood restaurant with very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pros
Nice environment with pleasant music at an appropriate volume.
Friendly and efficient staff.
Good Italian fare.
Cons
Didn't experience one but would not have been as happy if we had been seated in the dining room
next to the kitchen. If you are able, sit in the room next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuSu_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nob Hill Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nob Hill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing