We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleur de Lys”
Review of Fleur de Lys - CLOSED

Fleur de Lys
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Taylor & Jones
Orange
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fleur de Lys”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came across this place by accident and we did not have reservations and it was ok and they asked if we wanted to sit at the bar or a table and we chose the bar and loved it the food was great the bartender was from Brazil and she was wonderful and so nice and talked with us and got all the drinks that needed to go out done as well. Another couple of people came in and they sat at the bar for dinner as well and she made sure that all of us were taken care of and when we seemed to be waiting a longtime for our next course she was right on them to get it out, and they did. We really loved the food the bartender I can't remember her name, but she was from Brazil. I would go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsiasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    33
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food too!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went for the tasting menu and were not disappointed. My girlfriend is a non-vegetarian and I am a vegetarian. Both of us had good options to choose from. The staff was knowledgeable about the food and wines. We had a good time there and were were happy (and full!) with the food. The desserts were awesome, especially the apple crumble. The restaurant is expensive, but worth it. I would recommend this place to the vegetarians too!

To make it all better, we say Hubert Keller there chatting with the patrons.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Legal_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My "go-to" restaurant in San Francisco”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The people are so nice, I'd feel bad if I didn't go back each time I'm in San Francisco!!! The service is top notch and the food is AMAZING!!!!! If you are lucky, you'll get to meet Chef Hubert Keller, who is actually at the restaurant cooking!! (unlike most celebrity executive chefs now a days!). Its very fancy, up scale, high end cooking, but I like to go more casual and just eat at the bar. Very fun and worth every penny!!!! It is not overpriced.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyMcGowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My all time favorite French Restaurant in America.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a fabulous dining experience a few nights ago at Fleur de Lys. I love this restaurant! Hubert Keller is creative and the ambience of the surroundings in this well appointed restaurant just sets the mood for the wonderful wine and fare you will be enjoying. This restaurant takes extreme care in the smallest of details by the servers. The butter dish will come with a line of salt crystals that you can chose to sprinkle on the trio of exceptional breads offered. The wine list is
fabulous. We were able to get 3 bottles of a 2006 Echezeaux recommended by Marcus that were exquisite. (Yes, there were 5 of us) The food was great, as always. The details by the servers did not go unnoticed by me. If a person were to go to the loo during a course, the server would cover the dish with silver dome until their return. Everyone else went for a desert, but I know better....the cheese cart here is better than at Gary Danko's or Masa's. (I ate at Gary Danko's the night before this meal and at Masa's the night after) Order the cheese plate, it comes with bread, currants, raisins and nuts and the cheeses are wonderful, I had, among others, Mimolette, Epoisse. Fabulous! Do not eat much during the day of your dining experience, you don't want to miss a morsel and the portions are ample. Can you tell? I have always had a wonderful, memorable evening dining here. This restaurant is #1 in San Francisco for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiewebbbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went with a group of friends based on spectacular reviews from other diners. Dishes include strange, pretention combinations. Based on tasting various entrees round the table - only some of these succeed. The duck was good, the swordfish a disappointment. Portions are very very small. Very overpriced. Would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Effie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur de Lys also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing