We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Italian, but a fine restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puccini & Pinetti

Puccini & Pinetti
Reserve with OpenTable
Puccini & Pinetti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #167 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Cyrill Magnin
Transit: One block from Powell Street Cable Car line, Muni bart, F line and many busses.
Description: Welcome to the Family!
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Italian, but a fine restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a late night stop for dinner in SF. I had pasta a la vongole and it was fine, my companion had a braised short rib. Both were fine, the service was rapid and good, the price was not cheap, and the wine was good. What ekse would I want...Oysters? I would try this again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Great to hear you stopped in during your time in SF. Please come back for our $2 Oysters and $3 champagne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    393
    143
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not Italian food ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our hotel, didn't realise until afterwards that it is owned by them (grumble). The menu contained ribs and chicken Marsala. This is not Italian food, it's not even close to Italian food. Perhaps the owners could explain to me how that is Italian? Ribs are American BBQ and Marsala is Indian. Ridiculous

Helpful?
Thank Midge651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hey Midge651,

Thanks for joining us for dinner during you visit to SF. I wish we had the opportunity to speak with you in person and explain more in depth about our ingredients and methods of preparation. We do not serve baby back ribs covered in barbeque sauce nor Indian cuisine like chicken tikka masala. On the other hand, we do serve red wine braised boneless beef short ribs, made with veal stock and mirepoix served with mashed potatoes, baby carrots, cipollini onions, whole crimini mushrooms and parsley pesto. Likewise, our Chicken Marsala is made with Marsala wine. This fortified, DOC wine from the extreme western area of Sicily and gives the dish a sweet and savory flavor profile, to accompany the mushrooms, spinach, and garlic in the dish. Please join us again your next visit to SF and try one of these dishes, or one of our other staples like Bruschetta, Penne Arrabiata, Spaghetti & Meatballs, or Tiramisu.

Cheers

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian fare”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

my daughter recommended this and it was a winner! Calamari fresh and hot, pizza marguerite for first courses. Fresh greens with apples and cider vinaigrette were delicious followed by grilled salmon on a pile of hot fresh mashed potatoes with white corn, cherry tomatoes and greens. Very flavorful and the hot corn literally burst in my mouth with freshness and flavor. Others had chicken marsala with plump mushrooms and tasty sauce, and spaghetti Bolognese with meatballs looked delicious. We were too full for dessert.

Great service and hot, fresh, flavorful food at affordable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks for the feed back Linda! If you find yourself back on the west coast, please come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, mediocre food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were a party of 4 adults and one infant. The servers were courteous and accomodated our requests well. The food however left us not so impressed. The ravioli did not have much stuffing, although the small amount that was in there tasted good. Risotto was ok, higher on the cheesy side, would've appreciated more herbs. We also tried margherita pizza and was probably the best dish, albeit an appetizer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suchit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for your recent feedback, and sounds like we missed the mark on food. We are changing our menus seasoanlly and have some great, hearty dishes for the winter season. Please come back and try out our many other menu options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good option if you are at Abri”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Abri for a week and had drinks and dinner here. Was not dissappointed. They have a good happy hour, $3 beers. I had the ribeye from the dinner menu and it was excellent. If you are staying at the Abri and want something close you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppNeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
So glad to hear you joined us while staying at Hotel Abri! Don't be a stranger, and come visit us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini & Pinetti also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Puccini & Pinetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing