We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed a delicious food. T”
Review of Chaya Brasserie

Chaya Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Mission & Howard
Description: The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
2 reviews
“We enjoyed a delicious food. T”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicios food. The waitress was very friendly and extremely attentive. The view of the bay bridge and the light show was amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    162
    43
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food great view”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was worried that this was going to be a formulaic menu for tourists. Wanted a view of the bridge to see the light show while we dinned. Food was top notch. Seafood perfectly fresh and perfectly cooked. Great wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighPlainsDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful dinner. Nice atmosphere. The place was packed so you know the food is good. Good service. The best dessert ever. Downside- I called a week in advance from the east coast to get a table by the window but was seated near the kitchen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice sushi”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Go for the sushi, you get big plates and we all loved it despite not being big sushi people. The sushi was the best ive tasted. The rest of the food was nice but service was poor. On precious visits we had been given a selection to try but last night our waitress was unaccomodating. We also asked for a taxi to be called 3 times but after half an hour none appeared. The bar menu looks nice, as it was busy we had to wait 20 mins for our table, and were told to wait in the bar area, however we were then told that under 21s were not allowed in the bar area, which made things quite awkward for our family.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great restraunt with great staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A wonderful restaurant with an extensive wine list and an awesome server named Destiny! Happy hour prices were unbelievable for the location. Chaya Brasserie is right on the Embarcadero with a view of the Bay Bridge and harbor. Seating outdoors allows you to watch the Bay Bridge light show while enjoying good food and drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bchborocapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Brasserie also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chaya Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing