We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining experience at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tommy Toy's Haute Cuisine - CLOSED

Tommy Toy's Haute Cuisine
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, French, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Washington Street
Transit: Montgomery Street Muni/Bart Station. The nearby California St. cable car line and the Sacramento, Sansome, and Kearny Street Muni bus service are also available.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find, can see why it has been rated so highly by other guests.
When you first enter the restaurant, there is a warm welcome from the staff, the decor is tastefully done authentic oriental style, lovely ambience. The quality, presentation and menu selection doesn't disappoint catering for all tastes. Staff are so professional and seem genuinely enthused about their work. Some previous reviews have mentioned that it is a little pricey, I would not agree, you always get what you pay for and this was true here, pay more and get quality cuisine. Will certainly recommend to friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
357 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a meal! I had been in Tommy Toy's many years ago and was not sure it had maintained itself, but do not worry it is as good as ever! We just loved the tasting course and service was superb. If you order the soup just be aware that it is really hot and I do not mean spicy but scoldingly hot. Other than that, the food was amazing and service just excellent. We actually would have loved to go back but just did not have the time.
Tommy Toy's is a must for San Francisco visitors and really very well priced!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Delicious food, impeccable service, elegant atmosphere"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was raised in San Francisco and have been to many Chinese restaurants over 60 years. Tommy Toy's epitomizes what a dining experience should be: delicious well presented dishes, impeccable, unobtrusive, informative staff and quiet, elegant ambience. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or for business. However, my husband I took Bart into SF from the peninsula for a special treat lunch. What a lovely experience. We thoroughly enjoyed appetizers of minced squab and calamari; tastings of lemon chicken, wok seared beef, succulent gingered flounder and vegetarian rice; peach mousse dessert with raspberry coulis for under $25 per person. This was the December Executive Luncheon special offering. Being a San Franciscan and having traveled extensively this is a reasonably priced gem of an Asian restaurant situated in the middle of the financial district within walking distance of Chinatown, downtown and the Embarcadero. The quiet elegant atmosphere lends itself to a romantic meal, a business meal or to virtually any occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice place but way over-priced, food was nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was here with my extended family over Thanksgiving weekend. The service was prompt and the menu was little different than I am used to. I had the vanilla shrimp, it was about $25 for about 2 slices of honey dew with 8 medium-sized shrimp plus an extra $5 for a small bowl of fried rice. I could get a similar dish for 1/2 the price at PF Changs (which we all know is also nothing special).

My other family members enjoyed their dishes but thought that the price wasn't worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Classic and classy San Francisco Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place for a holiday dinner. I'm sure there are more authentic edgy Chinese places in town but Toomy Toys is so rooted in old style it's fun for a special occasion or holiday dinner. A last minute trip to San Fran and didn't want to do traditional turkey at the hotel prompted us to make this thanksgiving dinner and it was as always elegant and a throwback to a little dressier and more formal time. Excellent service of course by guys who could do this in their sleep I'm sure, very good food albeit not the most adventurous. I think it was the same menu as years before but excellent quality, delicious soup, perfectly cooked lobster with delicious glass noodles, lamb dish was very nice but could have used a flavor boost, a little more spice. Like other classic places around for years in othe cities you go here for the experience of seeing what dining out used to be like. Enjoy a great martini at the small bar before dinner then be fully taken care of by some real professionals and sit aback and relax. It's not cheap but I like to think of it as much more like a show then just a restaurant - someday it will be gone and it will be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaolele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Toy's Haute Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing