We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Perfection”
Review of Tadich Grill

Tadich Grill
Ranked #27 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Financial District
Denver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old School Perfection”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a great place for a weeknight dinner. If you don't have reservations, the long, long bar is first come, first served. The waiters watch out to make sure that rule is enforced. This place knows how to cook fish. It's fun to watch and enjoyable to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank inivium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    434
    133
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
278 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The oldest restaurant is still doing it right”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Tadich Grill has been in operation since 1849 and this place does great seafood. I have eaten here before and a recent lunch was as good as I remembered. There is a long counter that is perfect for a single guest or more hungry folks to sit at. On my recent visit I had a Boston clam chowder that was chalked with lots of clams and potatoes in a rich, smooth soup. Perfect on a cool SF day. Followed by a small mixed seafood salad with a house Louie dressing. The small size salad had a large assortment of large and bay shrimp, and crab, all fresh, and more than enough for lunch and along with some terrific sour dough bread made for a great late lunch. This place knows how to do seafood that does not disappoint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited here on a Sunday night and it was rammed! We timed it badly and entered on the heels of three other couples, nevertheless we were seated after approximately 30 minutes of some excellent cocktails at the bar. My girlfriend had been before and enjoyed the cioppino, so I had that and she had the seafood curry.

We were given some excellent sourdough first and a ordered some reasonably priced wine. When our food arrived it really was excellent and lived up to the expectation my girlfriend had set. There was loads of it and we were extremely content (stuffed full) afterwards.

Really, really glad that this place doesn't accept reservations, as this would ruin the experience and shut it off to most diners unable to plan weeks and months ahead. Great atmosphere and history behind the place, and the staff were excellent. Would definitely return in future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Timeless Elegance”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is something ageless and timeless about the food and the servers in The Tadich which I'd recommend that everyone should try at least once on a trip to San Francisco. Nothing too fancy, nothing too grand just a great place with really decent food. Enjoy, we did and go back every trip

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic Cioppino”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

As you've probably read from everyone, the cioppino is absolutely fantastic here. The atmosphere is great and most of the time the servers are wonderful. I get out to San Francisco once a month and this is usually one of my must haves while I'm there. The cioppino portions are gigantic. I will say that 1 out of 5 times I get the server that is just grumpy or doesn't want to be the but most of the time it's great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoshFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tadich Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tadich Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing