We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Family Style and Savor it All”
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 10/24
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #13 of 5,826 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Waterfront/Embarcadero
Cross street: Front St.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We went with another couple and ended up sitting and eating for nearly three hours. We loved the Giant Fava beans, calamari, and broiled eggplant. While the lamb shanks were very good the moussaka was exceptional. The fish was a bit greasy but we still enjoyed it. The only disappointment was the rice pudding...a bit too glutinous and not enough rice. The service was outstanding attentive,informed, and very positive. Eating there was a joyful experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 925 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

This was recommended. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I read if the goat stew was on the menu to get it. It wasn't, but our friendly and professional waiter, Georgie, said of course, I will get it for you. Different and delicious
My husband had a fish special and said it was wonderful
We asked if we should have an appetizer as to how large the potions were. Georgie said they were substantial and we really didn't need them. Good wine
All in all, a nice evening and would definitely go back. A plus was the two young women seated next to us who had suggestions for wine country where we were going g the next day

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank jennyseibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Im glad I left Kokkari for the last meal. Best dinner we had in SFO. Great Greek food with the best service in town. The melted cheese with lemon and the octopus were out of this world! Perfect!!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I have loved this place for years it continues to impress. The service is terrific, the food is outstanding and I love the atmosphere. It's incredibly hard to get a table on a whim, so you just need to book it a few weeks out. The bar is a great place to sit and either eat or just have a drink, but again, really hard to get a seat. But when you do, it's never a disappointment.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacyo415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere, the service and attitude and of course the food, Is just excellent.
Try the Lamb . Is just great.
We order Lamb, chicken, Fish & goat. Desert just baclavala and ice cream.
Try it. You will love it. This Is for all ocations.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Festercarecota
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.