We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service and Food”
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Front St.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service and Food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 4.30pm to book a table for later that evening. We were told they were fully booked but the staff went the extra mile to accommodate us. They said we could have an appetizer at the bar and if a cancellation came up we would move to a table. If not we could have a main meal at the bar. We got a cancellation and had a fantastic meal. The recommendations made by our waiter were spot on. We shared a mousakka and a lamb souvlaki which were great. The service and food are first class and this restaurant well deserves it's top rating.

Helpful?
Thank Johnltpne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    431
    94
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angelos
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I came here for a business meeting and it was my first time here. The food was great and will come back. The meat was tender and drinks were great. For some reason, it seemed like a hangout for older woman looking for a catch. Besides that, great restaurant and I would recommend the lamb..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Almost excellent based on a single visit”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I went out of my way to find this restaurant, seeing as it was the highest rated on TripAdvisor for San Francisco (in May 2013). For the most part, it didn't disappoint.

Despite the somewhat formal appearance of the restaurant, the staff were relaxed and friendly. My waiter was attentive and conversational, and made some good recommendations for me.

I went for red wine (they have a large selection of wines) and the grilled octopus for a starter, and both were superb.

Now comes the only caveat - my mains, the aromatic braised lamb shank was very good but had a bit too much salt. A minor error that, had it been avoided, would have elevated the whole meal. The baklava dessert was also very good.

I would definitely revisit Kokkari if I find myself in San Francisco again. It's not cheap but it is reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lahiru D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious! Make sure you make a reservation.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The food we ordered was delicious and left us wanting more! Very pleasant atmosphere. Having had authentic Greek food on the island of Santorini we were more than impressed with this restaurant which was recommended by a local working in a kitchen shop in San Francisco. He did us a favour and I would recommend it to anyone. Too bad our waiter was so aloof.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fundi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved the ambiance of Kokkari. The decor was beautiful with comfortable chairs. I ordered the filet of sole fish entree, and my boyfriend ordered the goat stew which we both enjoyed. The waitress and overall service was top notch. For dessert, we ordered baklava and ice cream and sprinkled cinnamon on top - delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeJeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing