We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite SF Restaurant”
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Front St.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favorite SF Restaurant”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Outstanding Greek cuisine. We live in Sonoma and make a special trip to SF just to eat at Kokkari. The best lamb chops I have ever had. Excellent fresh grilled fresh fish, deboned at the table. The grilled octopus is a must. Very nice wine list with always great service. Ambiance is special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,577
    431
    94
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Lively, busy, excellent”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We spontaneously went there for a business dinner on a Wednesday evening. The place was full, but we found a table (9pm!). Noise level was high, people engaged in lively conversations during and after a good meal Just as you would expect in a good Greek Restaurant. The menu offers a lot if variety, and the waitress explained the additional specials in such a way that it left our mouths watering. And presto, the food was served. Everything perfect, from the starters to the desert. Not the place for a quiet romantic date, rather for a group of friends, business people or a family enjoying some good time together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In a word, AMAZING!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A group of us were recently in San Francisco for a business/pleasure trip. Kokkari Estiatorio was recommended by one of the couples we travelled with and without question, is the best restaurant I have ever been too! The decor, the service and especially the food was perfect in every way. Our group was there on a more casual level however, the restaurant would be great for a formal event as well.

The restaurant was very busy, even for a Wednesday evening therefore I would definitely recommend making a reservation.

This restaurant is a MUST DO! in San Francisco.
Donna

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DOI8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Great food!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, thank you for having Valet Parking (only $8) as it is impossible to find parking near the restaurant. We got a great table in the back of the restaurant that allowed us to feel the energy of the restaurant and also have a quiet table all at the same time. The appetizers were amazing. We got grilled octopus (amazingly tender) and Gigante Beans (the flavor was awesome). For dinner my wife got Lamb Chops (3 pieces) and ate all of them. It's very rare for her to finish a dish like that. I got the Halibut over lentils which was very tasty. Unfortunately I ran into some fish bones which took away from my ability to enjoy the dish as I had to be leery of bones. We got an ice cream sundae (shared) for dessert and that was fantastic. We loved this place and would rank it up there with Boulevard as the two best restaurants we have been to since moving to SF from NY last summer.

We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelaxLiveRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner, a must visit!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by a real "foodie", and it delivered in a big way. The setting is beautiful.. by both design and decoration. Neutral tones, flowers, elegant. Kokkari was packed with people on a weeknight. Our group was large enough to try many different dishes, and no one was disappointed. From appetizers of hummus, grape leaves, Greek salads, duck rolls to main dishes with lamb and freshly grilled whole fish, everything was delicious. Seasonings were authentically Greek, but not to the point of overwhelming anyone who is looking for American cuisine. It would appeal to both palettes. Greek wine recommendations were terrific. We had white wines from Santorini and the only disappointment was that were weren't actually in Santorini drinking them! But Kokkari was a pretty good second! Try Greek coffee after dinner. It is strong and comes in varying degrees of sweetness. Really delicious. Service was impeccable. I highly recommend Kokkari for an intimate dinner for two, or a fun, large gathering. Anything will work here. Excellent restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing