We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night Pizza slices...mmmmm”
Review of Golden Boy Pizza

Golden Boy Pizza
Ranked #70 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Late night Pizza slices...mmmmm”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is open late...really late. There is always a small line about 10 minutes. The Slices are squares, with a beautiful crust that is crispy and a little flaky. The sauce and toppings are all really good quality. I always go late at night and there are a lot of fellow night owls following suit. Ive had some great conversations here. The neon sign was broken the last time I was there so if youve never been, its off Columbus and Vallejo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank featheredserpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    90
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the vibe and the garage feel of the place.The pizza smelled so good from the street that we had to in and explore. I loved the interior walls and ceiling which are corragated metal, covered with stickers. They only have a few different kinds of pizza, but each one is so tasty. I had the pesto vegetarian.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank opydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good because they are open late and serve cheap take-out slices”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the problems with San Francisco eateries is they are nearly all closed down by 10pm. After 12am forget it, you'll have to see if you can get a seat at Zimms (which is unlikely).

Golden Boy fills this void and is quick and convenient, serving decent thick-style square pan pizza by the slice. You can check out the variety in the display window and grab a good sized slice and soda for under 10.

If you aren't driving a cab, or in the need of quick cheap grub so you can return to a night of heavy drinking, there are dozens of better choices in the area. For great sit down or regular hour take-out head around the corner to Tony's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great to stop in for slice”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Found them while cruising through North Beach, great to rest up and recharge. Slices are thick and the beers are cold. 2 thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idahuazhouren83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went here during our trip for a late lunch just sat at the counter had a couple draft beers and a couple slices of pizza.
The pizza was good thick sicilian style squares.
The server behind the counter was nice place is small and it was pretty busy but not horrible. I hear it can be pretty bad after the bars close.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank UNCMOM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Boy Pizza also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Golden Boy Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing