We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Noodles, Sumptious Pork”
Review of The House

The House
Ranked #82 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Noodles, Sumptious Pork”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My "Foodie" son suggested we try out "The House" based upon the rave reviews. Well, the public was right on target with this restaurant. Everything from the sweet pickles to the wasabi noodles with chicken, to the grilled pork chop and sake, was absolutely delicious. The waitress was helpful and the service was quick. The cliental was a mixture of locals and food crazed tourists.

My negative criticism has to do with the restaurant's physical space. It was small, crowded, and we were seated at the worst possible table: adjacent to the bathroom and directly across the tiny isle to the kitchen. Our area was dimly lit and very noisy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    148
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat on our first night in SF and since we were near China town, we focused on an Asian theme. A quick google search turned up The House with a lot of good reviews on Yelp. If you like Asian fusion, give this place a try - the seared tuna in particular is amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suegri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

On a trip to SF ate at the House. Wonderful meal. Homemade pasta. The owner is attentive and very helpful. Wants his guest to feel at home. I would recommend this restaurant to all. Ready to go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKWhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow - my wife and I had a great experience at The House. The food was fantatastic - the fried salmon rolls and the shrimp tempura salad were great but the highlight was the sea bass with noodles and green beans. Cooked to perfection and with great flavor. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gregt551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just ok....”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting San Francisco a week before she started her research program at Stanford and had the opportunity to eat at The House. The restaurant was quaint with about 10 tables and people started to line up around 6:00 without a reservation. Parking on the streets were scarce so we ended up going to public parking for $15. There were multiple wait staff but not very friendly. When we sat down, they provided a miniscule dish of pickled cucumbers which was quite delicious and crunchy. We ordered oysters on the half shell which was warm and not very fresh. The crab cakes were ok. For the main dish I ordered the the warm wasabi noodles and my daughter ordered the mushroom rice. The noodles were spicy but the taste was odd because they spiced it up with wasabi and what tasted like Asian red pepper paste. The combination of those two spices did not go too well together I thought but looking around the restaurant, many people were ordering it this dish. The mushroom rice was like a risotto with prawns which was ok. I asked for some more pickled cucumbers and the waitress said she would need to charge an additional $4 .....for about 4 thinly sliced pieces!!! We left the restaurant wondering why this was on the top list of places to eat, we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing