We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The House

The House
Ranked #40 of 5,643 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went for dinner on Friday night, and we werw not expecting to be seated right away. We got totally blessed to ve seated right away. Atmoaphere was cozy and intimate. We ordered Grilled Sea Bass, Soy Glazed Salmon, wsabi house noodles with flatiron steak and couple other dishes. Food was amazing and we kept on "wowing" at the exquisite tastes. Price was more than reasonable. This was a definitely great find for good eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    146
    30
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I chose the House because it had good reviews on TA and Yelp and was near the Hilton where I was staying...the part of town its located in was a little seedy, but not in a dangerous sort of way. Its a pretty small place so you may want to make reservations but I was lucky enough to get a table as a walk-in. Im glad I came here because the food was delicious! I had the Sea Bass and it was cooked perfectly and the flavors were were well combined. I had an appetizer, dinner, desert and glass of wine for $60, so it was reasonably priced. The service was awesome too...plenty of staff, everything came out quckly....very efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

like any restaurant your experience will depend on what you order. my dishes where outstanding. ahi tuna, with some great sauces. a couple of appetizers were great as well. salmon roll, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruintarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An unassuming charmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow. What an impressive meal this was. I was visiting from Australia and had dinner on a Monday night with 5 friends. It looks like a very small, understated local restaurant, nothing fancy... but the food was just exceptional. By far the best meal I had in my week in San Fran (and it's a great eating city!) The seafood is very fresh and all the meals were cooked to perfection. I had the miso black cod for main which was out of this world, but tried all the dishes on the table and you would not be disappointed with anything you ordered. Presentation of all meals was superb - you'll want to take photos. We got through 3 courses (shared desserts) but the portions were generous - it all just tasted so good that we pushed on despite being full. You will need to book or go early, this place is no secret, so it's very popular. Service was efficient and they move people through without rushing you. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived with a large group of 10 and was able to sample a variety of dishes. I had the seared scallop and the salmon in sake bonito broth, and both was delicious. Pity our stay in San Fran is short otherwise we would have returned for another round of good food at The House.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kman_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing