We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This would've gotten 5 stars, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunan Home's Restaurant

Hunan Home's Restaurant
Ranked #126 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This would've gotten 5 stars, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

we're pretty sure we were all accidentally dosed with psilocybin mushrooms from the hot and sour soup. Each of us started suffering from strange symptoms, from paralysis to tingling to strange psychedelic type effects, anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes after eating the hot and sour soup. Anyway, the soup was still delicious and the rest of the meal was great. My daughter even took home the rest of her fried rice and had it as a late night snack.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    376
    148
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexceptional, but decent enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I chose this place on the strength of the reviews, and my family and I came away full and well fed, but also slightly disappointed. Service was prompt and friendly, but the food did little to distinguish itself from the myriad of other similar restaurants you find in major cities. Maybe it's good compared to its peers in San Fran, but we weren't in Chinatown long enough to sample them. At $80 for lunch for a family of 5 (including tip), the bill didn't give cause for complaint though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So tasty but suffering an msg hangover the morning after”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We ate here last night ( Thursday). Managed to book a table an hour before for a 7:30 sitting. Ambience was what you expect from a china town hole in the wall, we were sat downstairs which was almost empty when we arrived. Later it was much busier with a wide mix of what seemed to be regular locals. We chose 2 soups some egg rolls and a main each plus rice. Checking with the Waiter if it would be enough, he laughed and said more than enough - although brisk they were more friendly than I expected! Soup came quick each in a serving bowl. There was enough for all 3 of us in each one even though we had chose the "small" portions. Both tasted excellent though ( chicken and corn & the wah wanton). Shortly after the teaming dishes started arriving as trey were cooked. All tasted great, obviously spent no time between wok and table and like the soup presented us with a headache on how we were going to manage to eat it all. Because it tasted so good we did better than we thought and got about 75% through. We left feeling pleased with ourselves that we had chosen well on both the food and the price which for sf was very reasonable at $85 which included a a large tsingsao and 2 glasses of wine.
The one and only downside was the headaches and dry mouth we woke up with, which I can only put down to msg. Certainly wasn't drink as my young daughter didn't have a drop. It's a shame they still seem to use so much over here as back in the uk oven it had the same experience for many years.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank albeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, left feeling satisfied and looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We selected our own choices from the menu, including the combination platter for four to start. The waiter (I think he may have been the owner) suggested we change one of our beef dishes because the way two of the dishes were cooked were similar. We had orange beef, which was fantastic.

All in all, a really satisfying meal, and great value too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had dinner at Hunan Homes last week, while visiting San Francisco, and all four of us thought that the food was very good. We had Hot & Sour soup to start, which was good, and then we had Peking Duck for the table, which was very tasty. We had a variety of other dishes to share, after the Peking Duck, and all the food was fresh, hot and tasty. Service was good. We were in and out in about an hour. We have no complaints. I would dine at Hunan Homes again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Home's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Home's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing