We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Would go again for sure.”

Hunan Home's Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chilean, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Would go again for sure.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everything we had was very good. Shrimp fried rice. Crispy orange chicken, beef and green peppers, honey shrimp with walnuts & lemon, dumpling, egg rolls, potstickers. The family meal is a good choice. The decor isn't exceptional but that's not why we went there. The service was quick but more like what you'd find in a family-run Chinese restaurant instead of a trendy bistro; it was fine. (i think) the owner was helpful with dining suggestions and an extra portion of soup for my son who didn't get the family meal. We'd definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    386
    154
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
209 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place for authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went there on a Monday night and it was busy. The lady at the reception (I think she is also the owner) was very nice. We were there with our toddler son and she gave us a nice table after 5 minutes of wait. They had a very interesting looking high chair which my son enjoyed. We were served with warm tea which was nice. My wife ordered fish and I did a chicken entree with fried rice and every thing was simply amazing. The service was excellent. The owner was very nice and also kept on giving small things to my son to play.
We had a great experience their and this restaurant is definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JujuFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food at great prices”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hunan Home`s has great Chinese entrees for between $10 and $15. They have the best sweet and sour chicken I`ve ever tasted. The service is relatively quick too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
417 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Feel at Home in the Heart of Chinatown”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Short wait without a reservation on a busy Friday night. A pot of hot tea was immediately brought to our table and refilled quickly. We had at least 4 or 5 people come to our table to check on us, including the owners who were so warm, welcoming and funny.

Started the meal with an order of succulent bread. This is an amazing slice of warm, soft fried bread that is dipped in sweetened condensed milk.

For dinner, we had a delicious hot and sour soup that was full of tofu and vegetables, mu shu chicken and sizzling chicken in a black bean sauce. Great choice in the Heart of Chinatown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrs314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food shames about the service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. It was certainly very busy with at least 3 large parties arriving while we were there as well as a constant turnover of all tables so you know it must be doing something right. We were seated quite quickly and a pot of tea arrived straight away but then we had to ask for menus after waiting about 10 minutes. My partner's beer arrived quite quickly but we had to ask for my sake twice before it came and then the food arrived in 3 stages rather than as a whole meal. However the food was very good indeed so I would certainly recommend the restaurant on that basis. It is a shame that the overall experience was spoilt by rather rough and ready service from the very busy staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Home's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Home's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing