We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bravo...no..bravissimo”

Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria
Ranked #299 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoMa
Level Contributor
687 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“bravo...no..bravissimo”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

a very small but excellent restaurant.

Massimo, the owner, had this place humming for 13 years and provide the great personal experience you would expect from your favourite trattoria in Italy. All the customers seem to know him and he hugs and kisses them all. the food is superb. I tried the bresaola (good a bit too thick) and the pizza prosciutto and arugola (excellent with local tomatoes).

well done! beware the proximity to the Moscone centre fills the place easily, make reservations!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    62
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal at Pazzia tonight; food and wine both of excellent quality and attentive but never intrusive service. We shared an antipasto platter followed by pizza of the day and lasagne respectively. A shared lemon cake rounded the meal off beautifully. This would definitely be a favourite haunt if I had more time in San Fransisco!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy's or High Class...”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

But it is a nice, warm Italian place with good food, very friendly and enthusiastic personel.

Small place and pretty loud inside. Few seatings outside. Again, a friendly staff, a lot of locals and that is all a good thing! It is close to the real Italian restaurants I know.

I like it and would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goswin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and service”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great small restaurant on 3rd Street. The Margarita pizza was very good.
The setting is a little small or I would have giving it five stars.
The service was also great.

I would recommend getting a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Meal all Week”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Last night in town for a work conference and we definitely saved the best for last! This gem was recommended by the hotel concierge and was within walking distance. We were given 2 menus, one of which contained the homemade pasta dishes. In my opinion, it's the only menu you need. My understanding is the owners are from Italy and have a sister restaurant back there. I had the lasagna, which kind if sounds boring. However, this lasagna was top notch. Instead of ricotta cheese, the lasagna was made with a white cream sauce. I nearly licked the plate. Finished the meal with an equally awesome homemade tiramisu. Visit this place, you will not regret it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing