We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth the wait”

Mama's on Washington Square
Ranked #35 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the wait”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Heard about this place before we travelled to SF. Twice we tried to eat here. First time queue was around 1.5 hrs, so we decided not to wait. Next time we planned better and arrived at 0745 hrs for an 0800 hrs opening, so only had a 15 min wait, however not everyone in the queue got in for the 0800 hrs opening, such is its popularity. Anyway, fantastic food, can definitely recommend their cranberry/orange/walnut french toast with fresh fruit....the most fantastic breakfast i've ever had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    395
    162
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

So, you do have to be prepared to wait in line but if you plan for this it's not so bad. I went for lunch and got in line around 11:15am. I was seated about 1 hour and 15 minutes later. The restaurant is small with fewer than 20 tables. The food is phenomenal! I had the Californian omelette which had chunks of avocado and crispy bacon wrapped in monterey jack cheese and then wrapped in an egg omelette. They let me substitute regular toast for a slice of cranberry-orange walnut french toast which is the best french toast I have ever had. Perfectly seasoned crispy potatoes were on the side. I left with a big smile and thought the wait was worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Everchase182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love Love Love Mama's.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived at 7:20 on a Saturday morning, when Mama's opens at 8:00. We were the second group in line. I think many people plan to arrive by 7:30 and the line really starts to form by 7:35. If you arrive by 7:25, you will probably make it in the restaurant for the first sitting. We dashed across the street and grabbed a slab of focaccia while we were waiting for Mama's to open. The food is wonderful and the staff is very friendly. Our table ordered a shrimp benedict, cinnamon French toast, and mama's omelet. The cinnamon French toast had a wonderful cinnamon French toast flavor woven throughout and the shrimp benedict had avocado in it, which added a nice taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MT_Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We happened to luck out & when we went on a weekday in the morning there was only 1 couple in the line outside the place (there's a line that forms inside & also outside). This was recommended by a relative who had previously been here & I'm glad we were able to check it out & have some good breakfast. Apparently, the wait can be outrageous when it's a busy day. It is small inside, so be prepared to very close to the tables around you & the people standing inside.

We ordered the dungeness crab Benedict; which was only OK (not much seasoning/flavor). On a recommendation, the other dish we ordered was the Monte Cristo. Oh my.....how delicious this was!!!! This made up for the other part of the meal, and the homemade jam was AMAZING. All in all if there's a small wait I would go for it, but there would be no way I would wait more than 30 minutes to eat at this place. I am not sure how people line for 1-3 hours here!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyceNEricSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was a great one time experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The food was well prepared and I was satisfied with the variety of home made touches that could definitely be tasted, but the long line was not something I would look forward to doing when hungry. There are times when it is slow and if you are really curious wait for a shorter line. The waiters try to be friendly but with so much turnover expect the wait a long time only to be served quickly and out the door.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing