We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

Mama's on Washington Square
Ranked #35 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had to queue for one hour to gain access to Mama's on a Friday morning for breakfast. This may have been exacerbated by it being school holidays. The service was extremely amiable. We shared the "taster" French toast, and the corned beef hash eggs benedict. Both really delicious and portions were large. The coffee was really good as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    395
    162
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I was unfortunate!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

In fact, having breakfast at Mama's was on my list before landing in San Francisco. Unfortunately, the queue was long, about 20 person ahead of me waiting outside the restaurant which was fully occupied. I was there about 9:00 am.
After waiting for about 20 minutes with no progress, I decided to go ahead to the bay to have a cup of coffee there.
My advise: come earlier!

Helpful?
1 Thank AmmarHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long wait, but delicious French Toast!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We queued for about 70 minutes outside and maybe another 10 inside, but I knew that there would be a wait before going so I didn't mind.

I had the French Toast sampler platter and it was AMAZING. Portion size was generous, I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day

My tip would be that the 'chocolate' French toast is just French toast with some chocolate sauce on, so I would recommend trying the more interesting ones.

All of the food that I saw coming out to other tables looked great too.

Very pleased I went!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So not worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

One of the biggest regrets in San Fran was waiting almost two hours for a table. The food was ok but not great that I would wait nearly 2 hours again for. Biggest waste of time. I would maybe try it again for the pancakes to see if they're any good but definitely not for nearly two hours for eggs on toast With potatoes on the side.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_diaries88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Breakfast Worth The Wait”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We made a couple of day trips into San Francisco during our stay in the East Bay area. Our daughter had read about it and our DIL, living in the East Bay, knew where it was. Prior to heading in on the BART, we all had a pre breakfast snack to hold us over as we knew there would be a wait. The wait turned out to be half an hour outside and then another ~10 minutes inside. We ordered 6 plates of main dish items for 5 of us plus potatoes and bacon and drinks. We had to try the banana pancakes and ended up sharing them. The Monte Cristo I had was one of the best I have had in a long time. At the end, it was a hundred dollar bill for 5 of us and 6 breakfasts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hedo_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing