We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The wait is brutal, but try it anyway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
Ranked #41 of 5,452 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The wait is brutal, but try it anyway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This little spot has 2 and 3 hour waits for breakfast/brunch on the weekends. We were in line before they opened and it took 1 1/2 to get in. The food is really great and the staff is fun. If you can handle the line/wait, go and give it a try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    343
    143
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Be Prepared For A Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have eaten here three times now. The food is always excellent, but I wouldn't try this place on the weekend because there is even a wait during the week. Hopefully a table will become available by the time you stand in line to order and it is prepared. It is easier to get seated quickly for a party of two. We had "California" egg-white omelets this time, and they were FANTASTIC!!! My mouth is actually watering right now just thinking about this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gandresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast, but be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We knew going in that there was going to be a wait, so we went to Mama's on a weekday before it opened. we still had a 20 minute wait, but it wasn't too bad. The food was wonderful (great eggs benedict and French toast). I was, however, unimpressed by the Bloody Mary (far too much Old Bay seasoning). We'd recommend this restaurant for the experience, alone. It will certainly fortify you for a long day of walking around SF. On a side note, the restaurant is small, so it's not really set up to handle large groups.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal to wait 2 hours for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Got to Mama's about 9:00 and joined a line of about 50 people. The restaurant is tiny, seating about 40-50, and we considered abandoning the line. So glad we stuck it out, even though it took us 2 hours to get to the front door. The cranberry orange French toast was to die for, and don't miss adding a spoonful of the raspberry jam on every table to your toast. Just one example of what happens to restaurants that have been "discovered" by TV. Even though they were swamped, the staff was extremely polite and accommodating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candygirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“on TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hi,
You likely know this, but I was just watching(up here in Canada) a episode of "The Streets of San Francisco" called 'A Collection of Eagles' and Micheal Douglas and Carl Malden come out of your shop! It is from 1973, from Season One.
Next time I visit your city I will have to come in for a pastry!
I have been to Washington Square a few times but somehow missed this opportunity, darn.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing