We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Contadina

Trattoria Contadina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Contadina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: Cable Car (Mason-Powell) line. Bus # 45, 41
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've been coming here for the past five years and make the effort to get a reservation each time. Through Open Table it is easy to make the reservation and the restaurant does email you with confirmation. The location is perfect, several blocks off of Columbus on Union which makes it a quiet neighborhood without all the tourist traffic of North Beach. If you like you can take the bus from downtown and it stops right in front and picks up across the street. As for the food, it is so good. I just need to order some different plates as I always for the seafood stew. The service is superb and the bar serves great drinks. It appears rather small but they do utilize the upstairs space for additional tables. Only drawback is there is one bathroom for both sexes!
Enjoy, I will be going back soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SactoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    104
    35
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Italian Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The place is small but very good. I had the cheese ravioli with pesto sauce and it was one of the best Italian dishes i've ever had. I highly recommend this place. The staff is very friendly as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The first thing you notice is the postcard worthy location in the corner of a building at an intersection along a steep hill on a cable car route. The main dining room is quaint and fairly crowded. Entering the restaurant, we were greeted promptly and although a little early for our reservation, we were seated immediately. The waiter was friendly, attentive and cheerfully offered a number of recommendations for starters and entrees. Waiting to order, fresh Italian bread was brought to the table. We began with the bruschetta and the waiter's recommendation of a bell pepper, stuffed with several cheeses and finished with a spicy tomato cream sauce. Everyone in our party truly enjoyed this meal, but the stuffed pepper was the highlight. I then had the veal saltimbocca, which was very tasty and perfectly cooked. The perfect finish to my meal was the hazelnut gelato. This place is definitely worthy of a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tarheelblue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cozy, quaint and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a lovely surprise. A waiter at the Rogue Pub recommended this restaurant. We thought we had it made following a locals recommendation. Boy were we right! At 5:00 sharp when the doors opened we were seated and served quickly. I'm a pescatarian (vegetarian who eats fish). The red snapper was perfect, and the roasted bell pepper appetizer was divine! DIVINE! Alisha was our waitress and she was fabulous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahRamatAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Felt like being in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food was marvelous. Cozy, bustling place - make reservations! Best for those who like to eat where the locals eat, and don't need tons of personal space. Like being in Italy, doesn't feel touristy or pre-packaged. Service was great. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRichards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Contadina also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Contadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing