We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Makes Up For the Service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Radio Africa Kitchen
Ranked #1,983 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco
Level Contributor
206 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food Makes Up For the Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What a gem! Eskander is a chef with a background in some of San Francisco's toniest restaurants, and has then added the sensibilities of his home in Ethiopia. You end up with wonderful dinner that are classic and exotic at the same time -- not at all "fusion," but clearly different. And, yes the service is shaky. Give yourself extra time, bring some patience and just eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhopelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic flavors, service could use improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've known Radio Africa Kitchen since when it was a pop-up, and loved their food. The food is still awesome in their permanent space. Vegetable dishes are good, but their fish and lamb dishes are the winners if I had to choose.

The area is hard to get to as it's really not near anything, but the MUNI stop is right in front and plenty of street parking around. It's not in the most safest part of town, so just be aware of your surroundings.

Be prepared to spend a lot of time there. The staff is friendly and nice, but the pace is on the slower side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoichi_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious and creative=Do the Full Tasting Menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

An innovative menu that changes weekly. Diverse offerings with items unfamiliar to us (e.g., black garlic eggs, smoked trout bacala, lomi omani?) but all satisfying and delicious. Were given more than the "five" items offered with our Groupon discount. Definitely do the seasonal tasting menu!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccorpuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
629 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food, service is decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife & I used a Groupon deal to try this new restaurant. The chefs came out to visit twice which was nice. Our waitress was not too familiar with the vegetarian tasting menu, but the chefs knew it. There were like 10 items so we got to try many items. The food was good - never overbearing spiciness. It tasted healthy but good. The tasting menu included soup, salad, appetizer, a large main dish & desert. The iced tea, I believe with hibiscus, was also nice. The decorations in the restaurant are limited - it is a simple restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Creative food, an enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I recently took 3 collegues to Radio Africa. It has received good reviews in the local paper and was mentioned in Food & Wine so we wanted to try it. It's a bit of a cab ride from the middle of the city but well worth it. Because the appetizers all sounded good, we ended up ordering all of them (it's on the menu - they must anticipate that people will want to do this). All were very good but the edamame hummus and the fish pate were excellent - and normally I wouldn't rave about fish pate! We shared 4 entrees - the best being the fish (perfectly spicy) and the lamb. Wine list isn't extensive but we found a good valued red that everyone liked. The service we good and knowledgable about the different dishes that have a mixture of african flavors - Moroccan, Ethiopian, etc. I would highly recommend Radio Africa - especially because the chef/owner is trying to do something new with flavors and introduce people to African cuisines. It's nice to support the locals as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyRickAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radio Africa Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Radio Africa Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing