We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap eats in SF”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #762 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Japantown
Cross street: Laguna /Webster
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap eats in SF”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes San Francisco is a city for foodies, but restaurants are very expensive here and many charge you for every course. This isn't true at Benihana, you get a complete meal at a decent price, cooked in front of you. I wouldn't recommend this restaurants for tourist, since it isn't a traditional Japanese restaurant. Also Benihanas can be found all over the US, but for price and service it a value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank agoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    74
    30
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very tasty and good served dish and abundant.
Funny show done by the cook, when he cooked the food in front of us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime-2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a show!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were impressed by this restaurant while walking around the Japanese Center and decided to try it the same evening. While waiting for our table to be ready we sat at the bar and had a cocktail (a good bloody mary!), then the waiter took us to the table where we sat with other 4 girls. We ordered our drinks and also our meal. 5 minutes later came the cooker who was a real artist. He made a great cooking show and we were amazed by his great ability.
The food was also very good and tasty.
Go there if you want to have a nice evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bielinogiusino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent japanese food, you come here for the entertainment”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My mum in laws favorite restaurant. Food is decent and westernized japanese but you
Cme here for the show and to be entertained. You will not be dissapointed. Great for
Kids. Value is ok. Eat here at least twice and you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo12377ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome ambience and concept”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The concept of cook at your table was really awesome and the food they served was really yummy. the knife art of chef was amazing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sai1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing