We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Fine Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuni Cafe

Zuni Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Zuni Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Between Franklin & Gough
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fine Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I found the food well prepared, the environment lively and the experience overall very good. The restaurant is nestled in a nice part of town and the menu items were interesting, fresh and the service was very good. I will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    260
    103
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently a winner over many years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've eaten at Zuni Cafe many, many times over the past 20+ years and it is always superb. Excellent yet unpretentious food, great service, friendly and knowledgeable staff. My all time favorite!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The good - chicken is fantastic but make sure you order it when you check in at the hostess. The menu says it takes an hour and it takes an hour. The food in general was very good. Service was attentive

The average - the cocktail menu is decent but their speed would make a tortoise blush

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fudsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Zuni for the Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Oh Zuni, how I love thee.

I've been going to Zuni since I was a wee little girl. My fancy pants aunt would take us for ceaser salads and shirley temples before a matinee of SFB's Nutcracker, and now, 20 years later I'm still hooked on the ceased...however that shirley has turned to a balasamic bloody mary.

Everything from the great design and urban comfort keep my dreaming about my next visit. Whether you snatch a walk in seat, if you roll in without a reservation, or get a romantica corner spot in the loft upstairs, Zuni has it's ambiance down. The waiters know their food, and are pros. I've yet to come here and be disappointed with someone.

So once you've gotten yourself a seat and drink, and you're sitting in awe of the sights and smells around you, order yourself a dozen oysters. Suck 'em down with a dirty Grey Goose (warning: martini's on the small side, head up market into Martuni's to get your fill of a goblet of goodness if you want yer $s worth).

If you're in for lunch, without a doubt get a ceaser to share, try the burger with some cheezy roquefort goodness smothered on top and a side of shoestring potatoes. It's a lunch you'll never forget and will have you coming back for more, no doubt.

If you roll in after 5, they'll be setting up for dinner where you'll want to switch out the burger for the roast chicken for two, and you'll feel like you haven't tasted chicken before. There's nothing like it. And it's always served with a side of something great depending on the season.

Everything I've had at Zuni, I've loved. Their menu reminds me Chez Panisse, once upon a time I think a chef came from there. And if you're a foodie freak, ask for a tour around the kitchen and they'll gladly show you through, they've got nothing to hide. In the end you won't want to leave, Zuni will delight all.

**If you're still up for a drink afterward, Hotel Biron down the alley is a cool wine bar full of dark corners to get yer drink on. or for a more up beat time the aforementioned Martuni's will give you your fill (and then some) of your drink of choice, and will send you away whistling (or belting out) the tunes that serenade you while you drink.**

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olivegirlSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a memorable meal here. We were seated in a small section on the second floor that was quieter and more relaxed than the bustle of the first floor. Our piccolo fritto app got thing off to a great start. I had a lamb dish while my wife had a duck breast - both very well prepared and presented. The expresso granita dessert was a perfect ending. The service could hardly have been better. We would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrozPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Zuni Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing