We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic SF on Market..Win Win :)”
Review of Zuni Cafe

Zuni Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Zuni Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Between Franklin & Gough
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Classic SF on Market..Win Win :)”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant captures the very essence of The City...classy, interesting, urban, current, slick, good food, & a terrific view of all the street action! They do a nice thin crust pizza & serve a very good burger...I found the oyster bar fascinating:) Our "Little One" enjoyed the crayons & paper table covering...she created a Masterpiece!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    270
    104
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The chicken is legen...dary”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Let's start by saying we had high expectations going in. The famous roast chicken was indeed fantastic, but the other dishes we tried (an app, salad and entree) were well cooked, yet underwhelming. Enjoyed a few cocktails and rye whiskey, had a great time. And will be making that chicken at home!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttfn300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not sure if it was an off night but I don't understand what all the hype is about Zuni. The restaurant
Itself is very cool, great bar and wonderful wait staff. Based on all the reviews I ordered the chicken which takes an hour to prepare. The wait time is not a problem and they certainly don't rush you out. Notwithstanding, the chicken was a disappointment. I really wanted to like Zuni which is why I suggest that it may have been an off night. Our appetizers, oysters where very good, the coocktails and Wine selections plentiful . I suggest reservations well in advance if you're thinking of going as the place was packed. Regrettably I was disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best chicken dish in the city!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we were there for the chicken.. many blogs classify this dish as the best chicken dish in the city and a must go to place.. and they are not wrong!!
It takes an hour for them to cook it, but it comes out fantastic!!!
We made a reservation and noted on it that we wanted the chicken dish, had a couple of drinks at the bar, shared some oysters and boom... the chicken was there..perfect timing... parfect taste... PERFECT MEAL!!!

The place has great ambiance, nice people... in love with it!! I will definitelly come back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Good food, comfortable & casual!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We wanted some good California style lunch in a casual and comfortable setting; and this place fitted the build exactly. We had arugula salad, burger, pork chop, and string potato fries and finished with goat cheese for desert. They were all very good. Unfortunately we did not wait an hour for their famous roasted chicken over warm salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Zuni Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing