We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Bayou Gem”
Review of Elite Cafe

Elite Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Elite Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #970 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: California St.
Transit: To get public transit information, please visit: http://transit.511.org/tripplanner/index.asp
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Bayou Gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This neighborhood restaurant was walking distance from our friend's place in Pacific Heights. It is small and looks a bit like a railroad dining car. The Louisiana-style menu was very authentic. The guys got nice & spicy jambalaya, and my etoufee was well-spiced but not too hot. Loved sharing deviled eggs as an hors d'ouevre. Our friend says he has never had a bad meal here, and he's traveled the world.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TumblinSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting Food; Neighborhood Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Although it has a decidedly Cajun style, Elite Cafe mixes it up with other elements. My shrimp, sausage and duck jambalaya was tasty, and the duck confit was a tasty addition, even though it was out out place in the meal. My son raved over the pulled pork, which apparently was better than what he gets at home. Since I'm the one who cooks it at home, I guess I need to work on the recipe.

enjoyed the ambiance, which has a neighborhood in New York feel. Nice private booths with high wood enclosures. Overall, it was an excellent place for an enjoyable meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemandingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food with a touch of south”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Try to get seated in one of those neat booth to get some privacy.

I started with a chef soup and I was surprise by the small apple cube in the middle of the plate.

I continued with the catfish. Didnot like it. The crust is too sick, voiding the fish taste. The pork and bottom side disk is good though.

Finish with a thick blueberry bread pudding topped with vanilla ice cream.

Overall this was too much food for. I struggled to digest all this for hours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here recently for brunch, didn't find the service very good, we ordered biscuits and drinks - the drinks took about fifteen minutes and the biscuits never came. I got their eggs Benedict and it wasn't very good. Average in every way. The whole experience was just underwhelming and combine that with overpricing and bad service I won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTON
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best catfish dinner ever!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. We were seated near the front and on a Saturday night it was pretty loud. The only reason we didn't rate it 5 stars was the cleanliness of the ladies' room which was a turn off to the mrs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Elite Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing