We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did you see the green monster?”

Absinthe Brasserie & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 3/31
8:00 PM
Ranked #272 of 5,767 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Intermission
Cross street: Gough
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

The food was terrific (the burger is incredible & so was the oysters and pretzel bites ... oh and so was the grilled octopus), the absinthe (straight-up x3) was delicious and the company and atmosphere was unbelievable! Definitely will go here again...

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank BFamily20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 595 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2016

Absinthe is always on point! The food is outstanding and perfectly prepared every time. My favorite is the Duck Confit Ragout on crispy potato cakes with a perfect Bernaise sauce. The cheese platter is so delicious. The Ricotta-stuffed French toast is always a hit with my children. The service is friendly and efficient. The Croque Monsieur is yummy too.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennCarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016

After a wedding at the San Francisco Courthouse, we were looking for a place to celebrate and we found it! Walking distance from the courthouse, this was a wonderful restaurant with great options for a light meal or more. Both the Absinthe drinks we tried were delicious and the food was just what we were looking for. The menu was diverse enough to please those in our group who wanted a delicious burger and others who were looking for unique salad choices. The goat cheese appetizer was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank BlueDiver3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

I was a speaker at a small dinner meeting in a side room for such affairs. Great location, excellent service and food. I look forward to going back to the main restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rbschoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We went because I was craving french onion soup, and it didn't disappoint...
very nice low lighting , and the service was good and efficient, nice intimate bar,
not noisy...good bistro food in elegant surroundings

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Absinthe Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing