We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite restaurant before the symphony” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absinthe Brasserie & Bar

Absinthe Brasserie & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Absinthe Brasserie & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Gough
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant before the symphony”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have been going to Absinthe for at least 15 years. They are consistently good. We try to sit in the room without the bar as the other room is too noisy. We have tried most of the restaurants within walking distance to the symphony hall. We tend to alternate between Jardiniere and Absinthe, mixing it up with Absinthe's sister restaurant The Boxing Room occasionally. We used to like Citizen Cake before they switched up their menu and then closed, the chef leaving SF. Hayes Street grill turned us off once with their poor service and we've never been back. We felt Blue Muse was terrible. Caffe Delle Stelle is a lower cost alternative with a mediocre wine list and only acceptable Italian food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank food_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    195
    40
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch at Absinthe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great place for a lazy weekend brunch. We didn't have reservations but were seated after a very reasonable, short wait (there was 2 of us). The food was delicious, as expected, but nothing in my top ten. The service was attentive and didn't bother us for staying 3+ hours and the atmosphere was vibrant and fun, at least during brunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orangeblossomgelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant. Good food. Good service. Cute atmosphere. High energy. Not incredible but fine. A bit pricey for the food that is good but not memorable.

Helpful?
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant for a Date with Your iPhone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The noise level here is just awful. It is not like workmen with jack hammers tearing up a street or the New York subway, but you couldn't possibly talk to anyone here. If you are alone and have an iPhone with good quality in-ear headphones and don't mind pretentious and overpriced food, you might like the place. But with 50 other restaurants on the same street, why bother?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe_trotter_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Starting with bar the cocktails menu is rather interesting. The Sazerac is worthy of a mention. Its a shame I could not venture to some more, but the Martinez was pretty good too!
Food here is unfortunately hit and miss. Liver mousse was great chickpeas were disappointing, the Monkfish was great, but the Salmon was bland. Service is excellent and there is a great ambiance. Worth a try.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank is0lde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Absinthe Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing