We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh”
Review of Fresca

Fresca
Ranked #658 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: California
Description: Only at Fresca will you find A Nouveau Peruvian Cuisine, a modernized style of Peruvian food crafted by Chef Jose Calvo-Perez, son of Julio and Zoila. We are proud to feature both traditional and A Nouveau Culinary styles in modernized presentations. We keep the Peruvian cuisine alive by keeping all traditional Peruvian ingredients and incorporating them into all our creations. Stop in and become a regular! Lot's of fun things going on here at Fresca and we want you to be a part of it. We have introduced a new weekend brunch menu and we are creating some new Happy Hour menus that will feature some of our fantastic wines and savory appetizers! Yum! Stop by and meet our new General Manager, Tony Rasmussen and welcome back our Chef, Manuel Rodriguez along with the rest of the team that makes Fresca on Fillmore a fabulous place to dine. Cheers!
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Their trio ceviches, grilled whole fish with (very mild) sweet and spicy sauce were tasty and fresh. Plantain chips with sea salt and garlic favor were good, but a little pricy; five bucks for five small pieces.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelnuts101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hudson, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crispy avacodo, plantains, yummy!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great food, amazing salmon tacos, just the right size for lunch or drinks with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljhudsonHudson_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to Fresca on Fillmore Street in San Francisco and it was a surprise! It's a rather crowded restaurant, tables close together, noise level very high, but the Peruvian food is EXCELLENT. We started out with a ceviche sampler which was good, a bit tart and a bit spicy, but good. The entress were exceptional. One person had the rib eye with a fried egg on top and he said it was the best he's ever had. I had the wok fried steak which I absolutely loved and would return to have it. Another person had what was like a cioppino, but I can't recall what it was. She said the flavors were great! I also had the moulton chocolate cake and I think it was the very best one I've ever had and I have them whenever they are on the menu. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Parking is a bit hard, but if you are persistent you will find a place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Three words, ceviche, ceviche, ceviche”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

And so much more! This was our second visit to Fresca and we do not know why we had not come back sooner. The entire menu is intriguing and we wil be back to try more. Although we had primarily starters, we saw many of the dishes the kitchen was preparing. Everything appears fresh and flavorful.
My favorite is cheviche de coco followed by the Chino and 5 Elements. The crab croquetas and even the seafood wontons were yummy!! I will be trying their salads soon, and likely some of the beef dishes.
This is a great location in Pacific Heights. The service was paced just right for a relaxing Sunday brunch, they can get very very busy, so patience is a virtue in this small comfortable spot with everything made to order. We happened to be there on a beautiful day and sat outside with the dogs. Weekends are very busy so plan on making reservations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jl-ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lots of good tastes from the ceviches (get the three ceviche combo), very fresh ingredients for all dishes, lamb shank was rich and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresca also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing