We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Apple-Cranberry Cobbler”
Review of Chow

Chow
Ranked #349 of 5,839 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission District
Description: At Chow, we support our neighbors and local farms by offering fresh, organic, healthy ingredients. Our chicken is organic free-range, our beef is natural & organic and our seafood is sustainably caught & delivered fresh. All our desserts are made fresh daily in our Lafayette location and fresh juices are pressed to order. This commitment to quality has put us on San Francisco Chronicle's list of the Top 100 Restaurants in the Bay Area nine years in a row.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing experience at this restaurant- my husband and I stopped here (actually, walked almost a mile out of our way to head here based on all the great reviews) for lunch on the Saturday before New Years. The service was very friendly, the lunch options we ordered were great- pear pancakes and Thai style noodles- and the outside patio was so cute but I was horrified to find a substantial amount of mold in the apple-cranberry cobbler I ordered for dessert. Yuck! They were super apologetic and not only comped several items off the bill but also offered a giftcard as condolence, so I can't complain about the way they handled the situation, but if you decide to order that dessert, proceed with caution.

If it wasn't for the moldy dessert, I would have given them 5 stars.

Thank MrsClubGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Once again, I am sincerely sorry if your slice of cobbler was moldy. Not only do we make everything fresh from scratch on a daily basis, but the cobbler is one of our most popular options—we have to make it so frequently that it's concerning to know one piece was the slightest bit moldy. Seeing as this has not been an issue for us in the past, I plan on investigating what happened immediately.

In the meantime, please don't hesitate to share any additional comments or concerns with me. Would love to know what'd it take to make your next visit that much better! Thanks for reaching out and take care.

Best regards,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Coming from LA, brunch is our fav meal of the week so there was a lot of pressure to find something tasty, fun and unique...and Chow was all 3!

Good food, great service, super cute patio. Loved the peach pancakes and the $3.25 beers!!

I recommend for sure.

Thank Clubgoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Tasty, fun, unique—flattered we lived up to your expectations! The pancakes were a great pick, and I'll make sure to let our kitchen know how much you enjoyed them. Thanks for the five-star recommendation and come back soon! — Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Usually go there for brunch. Everything is home made, the service is great and we love the outdoor patio.

Thank RayCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Consistency is important to us, so I'm flattered to hear this has been your experience with us, Ray. What's your favorite thing to get at brunch? Thanks so much for reviewing us and stop by soon!

Take care,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A great relaxed lunch with good food. Patio to the rear was lovely and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Thank LondonFiachra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

So happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch out on the patio! What all did you order off the menu? Thanks so much for taking the time to review us the other day and come back again soon.

Take care,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

After all long flight from NYC and a day walking around the city, Chow turned out to be a godsend.

Our waiter lifted out moods and realized that we were starving, making sure our food got out quickly.

We had the baked goat cheese appetizer and it was amazing. Also, ask to sit in the back garden. Much better atmosphere and less noise.

Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for your review, Sean! So happy to hear you enjoyed the goat cheese appetizer. What else did you get the chance to try? Also, do you happen to recall the name of your server? I want to make sure they get a chance to read your compliments! Thanks again and take care.

Best regards,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing