We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great brunch spot!!”
Review of Chow

Chow
Ranked #341 of 5,826 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission District
Description: At Chow, we support our neighbors and local farms by offering fresh, organic, healthy ingredients. Our chicken is organic free-range, our beef is natural & organic and our seafood is sustainably caught & delivered fresh. All our desserts are made fresh daily in our Lafayette location and fresh juices are pressed to order. This commitment to quality has put us on San Francisco Chronicle's list of the Top 100 Restaurants in the Bay Area nine years in a row.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Coming from LA, brunch is our fav meal of the week so there was a lot of pressure to find something tasty, fun and unique...and Chow was all 3!

Good food, great service, super cute patio. Loved the peach pancakes and the $3.25 beers!!

I recommend for sure.

Thank Clubgoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Tasty, fun, unique—flattered we lived up to your expectations! The pancakes were a great pick, and I'll make sure to let our kitchen know how much you enjoyed them. Thanks for the five-star recommendation and come back soon! — Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Usually go there for brunch. Everything is home made, the service is great and we love the outdoor patio.

Thank RayCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Consistency is important to us, so I'm flattered to hear this has been your experience with us, Ray. What's your favorite thing to get at brunch? Thanks so much for reviewing us and stop by soon!

Take care,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A great relaxed lunch with good food. Patio to the rear was lovely and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Thank LondonFiachra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

So happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch out on the patio! What all did you order off the menu? Thanks so much for taking the time to review us the other day and come back again soon.

Take care,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

After all long flight from NYC and a day walking around the city, Chow turned out to be a godsend.

Our waiter lifted out moods and realized that we were starving, making sure our food got out quickly.

We had the baked goat cheese appetizer and it was amazing. Also, ask to sit in the back garden. Much better atmosphere and less noise.

Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for your review, Sean! So happy to hear you enjoyed the goat cheese appetizer. What else did you get the chance to try? Also, do you happen to recall the name of your server? I want to make sure they get a chance to read your compliments! Thanks again and take care.

Best regards,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

(Trip Advisor - you should really add half-star options, or go to a 10-point scale... Not Chow's problem, though!)

A breakfast recommendation for our last morning in town, my girlfriend and I stopped by on our way to SFO. Great location, not at all busy for a late breakfast, and the staff were terrific. My GF got the oatmeal with currants and bananas and a good cup of coffee, and I got the veggie scramble (who would have thought zucchini and eggs would go so well together?) and an orange juice that tasted pulpy and fresh-squeezed (note: I like to know I'm getting good OJ at a breakfast spot, so kudos!).

The only ding was the price, which felt a little steep. To be fair, most (all?) of the menu is local and organic, and it IS in a good neighborhood in SF, so... Maybe we'll have to return and see what else we can eat. Would DEFINITELY recommend to others!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Kiersten Frey, General Manager at Chow, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for the four and a half stars! It's wonderful to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed brunch with us. Do you recall the name of your server? I want to pass along your compliments to them! Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon but until then, take care.

Take care,

Kiersten Frey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing