We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected food great. Service excellent”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: California
Transit: End of California Line
Veigne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As expected food great. Service excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

For our last evening in SF we went to Ruth's Chris Steak House. It didn't start too well. We were placed in a table next to a window which was too cold. The waiter tried to turn down the AC but it was still too cold. I mentioned this to the Maitre D. Immediately they took us to another table; apologized and offered us a free appetizer. The problem was dealt with very efficiently. WELL DONE! The food was excellent and the service even better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    101
    31
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

After a cold and windy evening at Alcatraz this was the perfect antidote. The restaurant was able to accommodate us for a last minute booking and inside was warm and inviting – very much like a steakhouse should be. The starters were great, the steaks cooked perfectly and we were assisted in purchasing a great matching wine. As an aside, is there a better side dish than their sweet potato casserole? All up a lovely meal and I would go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JASMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Event and a Great Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

For my 50th birthday, my family flew to San Francisco from Australia. We decided on Ruth Chris for our night out. At last minute seating had to be reorganized but it was done very quickly and my the table sprinkled with Happy Birthday. They were busy and there was a high degree of automated service. Don't expect personal service but reliable and efficient.
Menu was thoroughly reviewed and explained to us by our busy server. Of course steaks the order of the day and our guests had the Petite Filet. Perfect size for the ladies.
Deserts were great. Larger portions; if dinner complete your gastronomic desire, desert will. Definite winners at our table: Chocolate Sin Cake and Crème Brûlée.
A great night

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Maybe one of the best meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Had the Sirloin (forget the US name for it) with mash, creamed spinach and onion rings. It was fantastic. Best steak ever, I didn't think a steak I had in Australia could be beaten but this was there. Great service, very attentive. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
365 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Very good steaks and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went for a friends birthday party and the entire group has a great time - steaks was delicious and cooked just the way we asked (medium rare in my case) - sides were pretty good as well. The size of the desserts though was ridiculous - you could have feed an army on just chocolate cake or the lime pie !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing