We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confused” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indigo

Indigo
Reserve with OpenTable
Indigo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,732 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Gough St.
Transit: BART Civic Center Station, MUNI Bus #5
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Confused”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stumbled across this restaurant and thought why not. We had arrived just after the theatre rush and there were plenty of empty tables, but none of them laid and the place was looking like a bit of a mess. Told to take a seat at the bar while they prepared a table, we happily did but then the whole place got a little confusing.

We had to flag down two waiters before even being paid attention at the bar and then 'they forgot' we were waiting for a table and didn't want to eat at the bar. Watching the open kitchen was interesting but it all looked a bit chaotic and was the kind of the kitchen that they had made do with what space they had. Not bad, just everything looked as though it was all in the wrong place.

The food was ok, not blow your socks off, but just ok. The service on the other hand was just a bit odd. By the food prices, you'd expect a fairly decent level of professionalism, but with all the waiters taking it in turns to do shots at the bar it all got a bit confusing. Its almost as though this place is trying to provide a semi fine dining experience, with the exciting sounding dishes and the rather interesting decor. While at the same time, the bar perhaps wanting to be more of a laid back downtown cocktail bar.

Great location if you are off to the theatre and don't mind spending the money for just OK food, but there are plenty of other places you could go for a much lower price tag.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeelulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were a party of five and all of us were thrilled with the food and service at Indigo. Our entrees included beef tenderloin, pork tenderloin and salmon. All were excellent. In addition, we tried a variety of appitizers and desserts and were very pleased with all of them. Our waiter was very friendly, very knowledgeable and very efficient. We would all absolutely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob3299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
264 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great creative menu, BYOB, excellent service!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Friendly and knowledgeable server, very interesting and creative menu, very good wine list + you can bring your own bottle with no corkage fee. Pork and steak were both excellent. Appetizers very appetizing. All in all a very good evening and a place we will visit again next time in SF.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xnycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to par for the area”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The food we ordered was barely eadible; sorry we spent the money there. However, Absenthe is walking distance and should have known that before we went to Indigo

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Up4GnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a very good choice for dinner before the opera. They are prompt and efficient and seem to understand time limitations. The menu is relatively small but very good -- we had three different entrees (salmon, white bass, and pork tenderloin) and were quite pleased with all of them. I especially appreciated the attentive service. I am on a low-sodium diet and wanted the white bass, which is usually prepared with olives. I asked our server (Heather, I believe) if the olives could be left out. She immediately checked with the chef and said yes -- then, without prompting, she asked if I would also like the food prepared with no added salt. This level of attention is very rare, in my experience, and most welcome.

They were quick, efficient, and friendly as well as serving excellent food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dudley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing