We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excllent”
Review of Quince

Quince
Reserve with OpenTable
Quince is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 5,834 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $220 - $300
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: Situated in San Francisco's historic Jackson Square, Lindsay and Chef Michael Tusk's celebrated Quince Restaurant features an Italian and French inspired tasting menu that highlights the seasonal bounty of Northern California. Accompanying each menu is an innovative wine pairing and sophisticated cocktail program. Chef Michael Tusk was named "Best Chef: Pacific" by the James Beard Foundation in 2011. Quince was awarded its first Michelin star in 2010 and in April 2012 its second, the San Francisco Chronicle bestowed a fourth star to Quince. In 2016 Quince received its third Michelin star.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here last night for the third time in two years and must say it was excellent as always. The menu consists of a choice of 4 course dining or 9 course dining. Given it was a business Dinner with time constraints we opted for 4 courses. Food was magnificently presented and prepared and each course while small in portion, was huge in flavor and richness. I was truly full by the end of the meal. Service was top notch. Only reco would be to have the sommelier be more helpful in selecting a great wine that isn't over $300/bottle. The list is large and amazing but could use some navigation when not looking to break the bank for a couple of bottles.

1  Thank Seaurchineceviche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quince_SF, Manager at Quince, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Seaurchineceviche,

Thank you for taking the time, effort, and attention to detail in writing these comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the textures and flavors of all the dished. I will be sure to share all your comments with the staff and we will continue to strive to provide a complete dinner experience.

The next time you are celebrating a special occasion or just joining us again for another memorable dining experience, we hope that you will think of us.

If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Rex Cariaga
Service Manager
Quince Restaurant
470 Pacific Ave | San Francisco, CA 94133
T. 415.775.8500 | F. 415.775.8501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 202 of 438 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited Quince again, now in their newer location on Pacific Ave. What an amazing restaurant in so many ways, all great with one cautionary note. We both had the Quince menu with several substitutions and the wine pairings. Together the culinary experience was great. Several comments of note:
1. The dishes are very creative so expect something unusual most of the time.
2. The courses, planned and unplanned, keep coming making this a long but very satisfying experience.
3. Service is dedicated and flawless, never requiring you to ask for anything. It either just shows up or you are given choices at the appropriate moments.
4. The atmosphere is subdued yet classy, almost a hip old club feel with darker tones.
5. Most of the pairings were great though a couple left us scratching our heads. As one of us is in the wine business, one was a little odd and didn't work. However, when one experiments on the edge, sometimes things don't always work right. That's OK as 98% of everything worked exceedingly well and the pairings allow one to try wines you won't see around.
6. Forget parking in the area, use the valet service. They add it to the bill and arrange to have your car waiting when you are wrapping up for the evening.
7. If you go for the full effect with wine pairing for (2), be prepared to open the wallet wide. With tip we were cozying up to $1K, not for the budget minded or faint of heart, but then this is not something one does every Friday after work (we did see some younger office types having a good time). You can probably get out of there for under $500 for (2), but you'll have to go with a single lower end wine for the entire meal to do so.

Quince has changed their menu and seems to focus less on pastas than when they were at their old address. That's too bad because their pastas were about the best we've had in the US (opined by someone who worked in Northern Italy off and on for a number of years). They are responding to the clientele who are demanding more and more edgy food experiences while trying to stay within the range of modern Italian cooking.

Having said all the above, Quince is a fabulous place for an outstanding dinner for that special occasion. So open the wallet wide and relax for a unique dining experience that few other places in SF can rival.

Cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quince_SF, Manager at Quince, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Glen,

Thank you for taking the time, effort, and attention to detail in writing these comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with we provided an atmosphere to do so. I will be sure to share all your comments with the staff and we will continue to strive to provide a complete dinner experience.

The next time you are celebrating a special occasion or just joining us again for another memorable dining experience, we hope that you will think of us.

If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Rex Cariaga
Service Manager
Quince Restaurant
470 Pacific Ave | San Francisco, CA 94133
T. 415.775.8500 | F. 415.775.8501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

For me Quince is the quintessential SF fine dining experience - more creative than Boulevard (in my opinion) and more relaxed and quieter than so many others. The service is sublime and perfectly choreographed while the kitchen is exceptional. Unlike a twelve course meal I recently had in Chicago where each serving was the size of a thimble which often included a teeny flower or twig, Quince portions are perfectly sized to allow them to be savored and enjoyed. The lamb was remarkable for texture and taste, the abalone pounded to perfection and the pasta with caviar sublime...and the chocolate ganache? Well, try it for your self! Only criticism is the wine list was a little light and ran out of some of the best choices...but I figure that might be due to the fact that they are preparing to renovate this summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JDofWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quince_SF, Manager at Quince, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear JDofWashingtonDC,

Thank you for taking the time, effort, and attention to detail in writing these comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the textures and flavors of all the dished especially the lamb, tortelli with caviar and abalone. I will be sure to share all your comments with the staff and we will continue to strive to provide a complete dinner experience.

The next time you are celebrating a special occasion or just joining us again for another memorable dining experience, we hope that you will think of us.

If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Rex Cariaga
Service Manager
Quince Restaurant
470 Pacific Ave | San Francisco, CA 94133
T. 415.775.8500 | F. 415.775.8501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a great evening with one of the 9 course menus of the house. Solid, elegant and tasty cooking with a very consistent performance from both staff and kitchen. Elegant dished, often with modern (but not too modern) twists on classic Italian ingredients. The wine pairing was also good, showing off interesting local wines combined with classic Italian/French ones. All-in-all a very nice plan that I would come back to, and a well deserved Michelin star.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ketil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Quince is a culinary experience on its own. We had the 9 course tasting menu, a really surprising assembly of different kinds of food that surprises with every course. Seafood, beef, vegetables, great quality and great taste. Wine list is very comprehensive, we had a 2005 echezeaux priced very reasonably for the quality of the wine. This place is a must go in San Francisco, a city not easily impressed by food quality.
restaurant is very comfortable, tables set apart from each other and high ceilings provide a luxurious atmosphere for a royal dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quince_SF, Manager at Quince, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear RS,

Thank you for taking the time, effort, and attention to detail in writing these comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and we provided a comfortable and luxurious atmosphere to do so. I will be sure to share all your comments with the staff and we will continue to strive to provide a complete dinner experience.

The next time you are celebrating a special occasion or just joining us again for another memorable dining experience, we hope that you will think of us.

If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Rex Cariaga
Service Manager
Quince Restaurant
470 Pacific Ave | San Francisco, CA 94133
T. 415.775.8500 | F. 415.775.8501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quince also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Quince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing