We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“World class coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sightglass Coffee

Sightglass Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoMa
Description: Sightglass is an independent, sibling-owned coffee company in San Francisco. To us, a good craftsperson works tirelessly to perfect and deliver excellence. At Sightglass, coffee is our hands-on craft. Because coffee is a seasonal fruit, we source it from origin in tiny, freshly harvested lots.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“World class coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Sophisticated coffee, coffee lovers heaven. Sit near the window to be able to get free wi-fi from nearby hotel. Coffee is to die for. Regrettably ruined with a below average cookie. Stick with the coffee, sight glass is a good advert for San Fran. You will struggle to find a better coffee. Cool interior too.

Helpful?
Thank Goteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Specialty Coffee equal to Melbourne Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located in the industrial SOMA area on 7th St (between Howard and Folsom), these guys take their coffee very seriously. Super chilled atmosphere in the midst of a 'working' coffee roasting business. We could take our bikes inside and leave them at the back. Very casual clientele, students, creatives meeting...definitely no suits could be spotted. Apparently they do not have WIFI as a point of difference so that people actually talk rather than nose on the screen.

This is a pleasant change and totally agree.

They are opening another outlet in the Mission soon. https://www.sightglasscoffee.com/our-company/locations

Check it out...you will not be disappointed if you are serious about your coffee

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sightglass Coffee Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a proper coffee drinking experience. It shouts out 'I'm different' as soon as you walk in. Quality of coffee is excellent and the aroma from freshly ground beans is tangible

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the cats meow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

okay. when i first stepped into sightglass i was impressed. the experience, which is outstanding, continued from ordering, watching my coffees being made (yes, plural-it was like a kid in a candy store and i had to have two), and taking in the atmosphere. then after picking up my coffee i wondered upstairs and found the single origin bar-OMG i am in foodie heavan-i met lea, who was testing out new roast. so after i finished my eapresso and latte i sampled a few test pulls. needless to say, i got wired. simple put, sightglass is a must, and try the gougere sandwich; delicious

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-n-MsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh as hell, and hot as hell!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great coffee and concept - amazing to see the Probat roaster whilst sipping on an espresso made with beans roasted on site. This was my second visit - the first time (a couple of years ago) everything was still in the process of being set up and service was via a temporary set-up in the entrance. The coffee is still as good and the roasting just makes everything hotter!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bogan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sightglass Coffee also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sightglass Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing